Topic Sponsor
2009 - 2014 Ford F150 General discussion on 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

CEL p2098

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2010, 10:09 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default CEL p2098

Hey guys. This is my first real post on here. I really like the F150 and wouldn't go back to a smaller truck. Every time I fill the tank, it seems within the first few miles the CEL comes on and has to be reset. I get a p2098. I did give the pump a few more squeezes to put a little more gas in there to make it an even number. Would overfilling the tank like this cause a CEL on the capless system? I'm very new to this truck and have been searching around to see if I could find a hint or someone with the same problem as a new owner. If there is a thread I have not found to help me, please post the link for me! Thanks--
Old 08-25-2010, 10:34 AM
FEs Rule

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by usaxray25
Hey guys. This is my first real post on here. I really like the F150 and wouldn't go back to a smaller truck. Every time I fill the tank, it seems within the first few miles the CEL comes on and has to be reset. I get a p2098. I did give the pump a few more squeezes to put a little more gas in there to make it an even number. Would overfilling the tank like this cause a CEL on the capless system? I'm very new to this truck and have been searching around to see if I could find a hint or someone with the same problem as a new owner. If there is a thread I have not found to help me, please post the link for me! Thanks--
If I am reading the OBD codes correctly a P2098 means you have a left engine bank lean condition. That shouldn't have anything to do with the amount of gas you are putting into your tank. It should still be under the emissions warranty and I suggest you take it to the dealer next time it comes on. Don't reset, let them do the diagnostics and correct it.
Old 08-25-2010, 11:24 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts