Anyone else have a Canadian FX4? - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

Topic Sponsor
2009 - 2014 Ford F150 General discussion on 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anyone else have a Canadian FX4?

Reply

 
 
 
Old 09-06-2015, 12:01 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 52
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Anyone else have a Canadian FX4?

So I traded my '12 Fx4 for a '14 FX4 Screw with the appearance package. I noticed the gauge cluster doesnt say FX4 like my '12 along with having the DRLs and engine block heater. Just curious about the Canadian Max Tow. Window sticker says it's equipped with it but it doesn't have the mirrors or the controls inside on the door panel for tow mirrors. I wonder if the Canadian Max Tow just doesn't come with the mirrors?



So I've had it for 8 hrs and already the RPM gauge won't reset to zero. When off its about 1500 RPMS so driving it's that much higher. Anyone had experience resetting the guage (I'm pretty sure it requires a trip back to Ford)
Silverlx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2015, 12:01 AM
  #2  
FX4RoadWarrior
 
tanked_darren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 2,989
Thanked 456 Times in 324 Posts
Default

Mine did
tanked_darren is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2015, 12:43 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
AbitaPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,171
Thanked 228 Times in 167 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Silverlx View Post
So I traded my '12 Fx4 for a '14 FX4 Screw with the appearance package. I noticed the gauge cluster doesnt say FX4 like my '12 along with having the DRLs and engine block heater. Just curious about the Canadian Max Tow. Window sticker says it's equipped with it but it doesn't have the mirrors or the controls inside on the door panel for tow mirrors. I wonder if the Canadian Max Tow just doesn't come with the mirrors?



So I've had it for 8 hrs and already the RPM gauge won't reset to zero. When off its about 1500 RPMS so driving it's that much higher. Anyone had experience resetting the guage (I'm pretty sure it requires a trip back to Ford)
Ford may have made them an option, even for the max tow, on 2014 and up. I hope the gauge reset is an easy fix. I like the appearance package, looks good! Enjoy your new truck.
AbitaPro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2015, 10:33 AM
  #4  
Member
 
Jesso2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Alberta, CA
Posts: 82
Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
Default

My Canadian XLT with max tow didn't have tow mirrors. I believe it's a separate option.
Jesso2k is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2015, 01:03 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
kevin7898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Frozen north( Fort McMurray AB.)
Posts: 490
Thanked 71 Times in 57 Posts
Default

it is a separate option, why? hell if i know, kind of pissed me off actually
kevin7898 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2015, 02:36 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
1994Vmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ardmore Alberta
Posts: 1,164
Thanked 148 Times in 121 Posts
Default

I am happy to say the Max Tow up here doesn't include the trucker mirrors as I would have took them off anyhow. So no, unlike the US they are a separate option over and above the Max tow option. Cluster should say FX4..... my 13 does as does my relatives 14. Both of those FX4's are appearance package trucks as well.

Last edited by 1994Vmax; 09-06-2015 at 02:54 PM.
1994Vmax is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2015, 02:44 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
FX4RubyRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GTA,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 2,026
Thanked 31 Times in 26 Posts
Default

That was a $400.00 option when I ordered my 2013..
FX4RubyRed is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2015, 10:29 PM
  #8  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 52
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default


Originally Posted by 1994Vmax View Post
I am happy to say the Max Tow up here doesn't include the trucker mirrors as I would have took them off anyhow. So no, unlike the US they are a separate option over and above the Max tow option. Cluster should say FX4..... my 13 does as does my relatives 14. Both of those FX4's are appearance package trucks as well.
Here is the cluster in my Canadian '14 FX4 I bought in Colorado. I'm wondering if the dealer swapped clusters for a US version but didn't put the correct FX version in... maybe that's why my RPMs read waayyyy high, they screwed something up...
Silverlx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2015, 10:33 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Steve Osborne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: corbeil ontario canada
Posts: 1,992
Thanked 255 Times in 222 Posts
Default

Canadian the kmp/h would be on top not miles... and looks like my xlt..
Attached Thumbnails Anyone else have a Canadian FX4?-11949545_661829797286508_6924668575881134183_n.jpg  

Last edited by Steve Osborne; 09-06-2015 at 10:36 PM.
Steve Osborne is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2015, 12:13 PM
  #10  
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 35
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Silverlx View Post



Here is the cluster in my Canadian '14 FX4 I bought in Colorado. I'm wondering if the dealer swapped clusters for a US version but didn't put the correct FX version in... maybe that's why my RPMs read waayyyy high, they screwed something up...
Plug in a code reader that reads you the live RPMs and compare to the gauge. Could very well be the case.
dillons is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Anyone else have a Canadian FX4?


Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: