Topic Sponsor
Wheels & Tires Let's talk Wheels & Tires here!

Aftermarket brake packages for F150 4x4?

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2018, 01:28 PM

Received 240 Likes on 135 Posts
Default Aftermarket brake packages for F150 4x4?

I have a 2015 F150 crew cab 4x4 with the 3.5L Ecoboost, 18 inch wheels. My rotors have not perfromed to my liking and I'm contemplating installing slotted and drilled rotors. I'm not a DIY mechanic (Mr. Mediocre Wrench at best) Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Old 07-05-2018, 07:19 AM

Received 109 Likes on 86 Posts

What is the issue with the OE rotors? Assuming they're in proper working condition, simply changing your rotors will do little to nothing for braking performance. Slotted/drilled won't offer any extra braking power, but they do have less surface area for dissipating heat (not good).
If you can lock up your tires (with ABS defeated), you should be looking at tires, not rotors, for better stopping performance.
Old 07-05-2018, 07:21 PM