Pioneer HU Upgrade Problems - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

Topic Sponsor
Stereo/Audio Come discuss all Ford F150 Stereo and Audio questions here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Pioneer HU Upgrade Problems

Reply

 
 
 
Old 07-27-2014, 05:56 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
13_SCREW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Default Pioneer HU Upgrade Problems

So sorry guys, as this topic has probably been discussed before. Installing a Pioneer double din in a friends 2011 FX4 w/ Sony system. Used the MS-FRD1 and can't get the USB for Sync to work. Also having problems programming the SWI-RC for the steering wheel controls. A link to a How-To or any tips would be amazing!
13_SCREW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 06:50 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Victoria,TX
Posts: 3,541
Thanked 328 Times in 305 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 13_SCREW View Post
So sorry guys, as this topic has probably been discussed before. Installing a Pioneer double din in a friends 2011 FX4 w/ Sony system. Used the MS-FRD1 and can't get the USB for Sync to work. Also having problems programming the SWI-RC for the steering wheel controls. A link to a How-To or any tips would be amazing!
Aftermarket radio must be set to Aux Input Mode to hear SYNC® USB,
Bluetooth Media, Satellite Radio or Line In audio. Phone call audio & SYNC®
Voice Prompts will always be heard no matter what mode your aftermarket
radio is in.

What problems are you having with the SWI-RC? You have the dail turned to 7 fro the Pioneer correct?
Wyo11Scab is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 09:57 PM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
13_SCREW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Default

I turned it to Aux and nothing comes out. Even hot the voice command and changed it to USB and nothing will play.

With the SWI-RC, I have it set to 7 and on program mode 2, but every time I try to program the functions, none of them work. I used the harness from the MS - FRD1 instead of the supplied harness. Could that cause the problem?
13_SCREW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 12:19 AM
  #4  
Member
Thread Starter
 
13_SCREW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Default

So I went through and undid everything and hooked it all back up. When I hit the Voice Command button, and say USB, it goes to the iPod Mini and I can faintly hear it playing. It even shows the band and song on the factory LCD screen so I know it's switching to the USB port. The problem I'm having is I have no control over the volume. Any inputs?
13_SCREW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 11:03 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Victoria,TX
Posts: 3,541
Thanked 328 Times in 305 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 13_SCREW View Post
So I went through and undid everything and hooked it all back up. When I hit the Voice Command button, and say USB, it goes to the iPod Mini and I can faintly hear it playing. It even shows the band and song on the factory LCD screen so I know it's switching to the USB port. The problem I'm having is I have no control over the volume. Any inputs?
Pretty sure there is a volume adjustment somewhere. It is in the softwae and not a dial, etc.
Wyo11Scab is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 02:43 PM
  #6  
Member
Thread Starter
 
13_SCREW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Wyo11Scab View Post
Pretty sure there is a volume adjustment somewhere. It is in the softwae and not a dial, etc.
Are you talking about in the Sync system or in the HU itself?
13_SCREW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 03:47 PM
  #7  
Member
Thread Starter
 
13_SCREW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Default

I'm thinking it has to be something with Sync. The USB works fine when plugged into the back of the Pioneer.
13_SCREW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 08:23 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Victoria,TX
Posts: 3,541
Thanked 328 Times in 305 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 13_SCREW View Post
I'm thinking it has to be something with Sync. The USB works fine when plugged into the back of the Pioneer.
I would call PAC if I were you
Wyo11Scab is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 01:37 PM
  #9  
Member
Thread Starter
 
13_SCREW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Could it be the mute loop as mentioned in the MS-FRD1 instructions?


http://www.pac-audio.com/PACProductD...ons_020311.pdf
13_SCREW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 08:34 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Victoria,TX
Posts: 3,541
Thanked 328 Times in 305 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 13_SCREW View Post
Could it be the mute loop as mentioned in the MS-FRD1 instructions?


http://www.pac-audio.com/PACProductD...ons_020311.pdf
The mute loop is used when sync comes on it mutes the system. Sometimes it will cause the HU to turn off when sync comes on in which case the brown wiore needs to be cut.
I am wondering how he has the input connected for sync? You need to take the red and white RCA and adapt it to whatever size the HU's aux input is. Most cases it is 3.5mm jack
Wyo11Scab is offline  
Reply With Quote
 
 
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Pioneer HU Upgrade Problems


Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: