Topic Sponsor
Stereo/Audio Come discuss all Ford F150 Stereo and Audio questions here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: The Magic Brand

Infinity Kappa 62ix vs Morel Maximo Ultra 602 coax in rear door review

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2018, 04:00 PM

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Infinity Kappa 62ix vs Morel Maximo Ultra 602 coax in rear door review

Here is my review of the Infinity Kappa 62ix vs Morel Maximo Ultra 602 coax in the rear door of supercrew running off of factory sync 3. I am not a professional just a guy looking for some good sound. I hope this helps someone looking for rear speaker. The 62ix is one of Infinity top coax 6.5. (Crutchfield says 62ix will not fit. That is not true it fits without a problem.) The 602 coax is one of Morel lower end coax speaker. They are both priced around $150. Of the two speakers the 62ix is about 10 oz heavier. I also like the design of the 62ix speaker a little better. I like the screw in wire connection vs the spade style connectors on the Morel. The rear basket on the morel is a little wider. When installing with metra door adaptor you have to trim some clips off of the adaptor for the speaker to fit flush.
Now the important part the sound. Both of these speaker sound real good. It was hard for me to say one sounds better than the other although they did have different sounds. The 62ix tweeters seems to be a little brighter. So if you like that style I would go with that one. Bass was about the same on both. Again i was running this just of the sync 3 radio so when amplified I am sure you may be able to tell a bigger difference between the two.
I decided to go with the Morel only because I am planning to add an amplifier and I was concerned that the Kappa 62ix would be to bright for my taste when amplified.

The following 2 users liked this post by cboo85:
cmw458 (03-06-2018), Wyo11Scab (03-06-2018)
Old 03-07-2018, 06:04 PM

Received 178 Likes on 154 Posts