Topic Sponsor
Stereo/Audio Come discuss all Ford F150 Stereo and Audio questions here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: The Magic Brand

Got it narrowed down...AUDIO GURUS HELP!!

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2010, 10:37 AM
Do Work

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Got it narrowed down...AUDIO GURUS HELP!!

Alright, noob here with a question. First off let me give you some backround. I am looking to do a install on my 2009 Ford F150 REGULAR cab truck. Not wanting anything over the top, just something better than the crap stock system. I have had JL Audio components in the past, and am wanting to stick with this brand. I listen to mostly rock/metal music (Tool, Deftones, Rage Against The Machine, Killswitch Engage, etc.) and am looking for something that will give me tight, kick in the chest bass that compliments my taste in music. I rarely ever listen to rap, so no need for that boomy bass.

I will be keeping my stock head unit and hopefully adding the following:

-JL C5-570 component set for the front doors
http://mobile.jlaudio.com/products_c...hp?comp_id=444

-JL G4500 amp
http://mobile.jlaudio.com/products_amps.php?amp_id=480

and either 1 JL 10W3 or 1 or 2 JL 8W3 sub(s).
http://mobile.jlaudio.com/products_s...p?series_id=24
http://mobile.jlaudio.com/products_s...p?series_id=27

My question is, what would be the better choice subwoofer wise between the options listed above. I am wanting to run everything off the G4500 amp if possible. 1 channel with the component set, and another bridged with the sub(s). Which sub choice would work best and not stress this amp too much?? Thanks for the help and insight. I appreciate it greatly.
Old 02-08-2010, 06:54 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The two JL 8" are a good choice, but I saw on here somewhere that someone suggested you go to an "audition" of woofers at your favorite stereo shop.