Topic Sponsor
Stereo/Audio Come discuss all Ford F150 Stereo and Audio questions here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: The Magic Brand

FH-168 polarity tool. Do you trust it?

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2018, 09:39 PM

Received 32 Likes on 11 Posts

Default FH-168 polarity tool. Do you trust it?

Picked one of these up from Amazon for 8 bucks just to double check things moving forward. Tried it out tonight using the +++- track from DandF tool box and it’s telling me I have the polarity reversed on Every. Single. Speaker. I’m no pro installer but I am a 17 year Master Lexus Tech and know my way around a wiring diagram. Everything is wired per the diagrams pulled directly from Ford Installer Support. I do have to admit that I changed the polarity on the sub as it is the easiest to access, and it does sound better. Tighter with more accurate kick drum. So I gotta wonder, should I trust this thing and change everything else? Or look for a backup tester / second opinion? I downloaded the speaker pop app on iPhone, a waste of 5 bucks.
Old 12-01-2018, 09:44 PM

Received 1,210 Likes on 875 Posts

Grab a 9 volt battery and connect it to your speaker leads one speaker at a time. If the cone moves outward, your polarity is correct. If the cone moves inward, your polarity is wrong.
Old 12-01-2018, 10:26 PM

I could do that all day long. They’re wired correct according to the diagram. What if the diagram is wrong? Or the source unit polarity is incorrect? Nothing would surprise me in a Ford lol
Old 12-02-2018, 05:38 AM

Received 496 Likes on 345 Posts

Originally Posted by heytonyman