Topic Sponsor
Stereo/Audio Come discuss all Ford F150 Stereo and Audio questions here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: The Magic Brand

DIY With VIDEO -2010 F150 Amplifier Install Part One

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2011, 11:23 AM

Received 14 Likes on 6 Posts
Default DIY With VIDEO -2010 F150 Amplifier Install Part One

Here I've made a short video on how I installed my amplifier behind the seats and running the power and remote wires down one side of the truck. I also show where I grounded the amp.

I am not a professional, just take what you will from the video and it may help you during your installation.

This is just Part One, Its too cold outside so later on I will post the second half when I run the rest of the wires to the headunit.

***PART TWO POSTED***

Watch this first if you need to know how to remove the headunit

Materials Used:
Panel Removal Kit
3/8" Galvanized Rod - (2x) 3" Pieces
3/8" Nuts&Washers
1/2" MDF 32"x16" With Notch Cut Around Seatbelt
Metra BT-5520 Wiring Harness
Kicker ZX700.5 5 Channel Amplifier
Kicker CK44 4-Channel Amp Install Kit
(2x) Kicker ZISL (09ZISL) (Speaker Wire to RCA Conversion)
Kicker ZXRC (10ZXRC) (Bass Remote Control)
Single Subwoofer Box from SupercrewSound.com
Alpine SWS-1043D Type-S Subwoofer 300w DVC @4ohms
(4x) Infinity Kappa 682.9CF Door Speakers (6x9's) (100w @ 2ohms)

Total Cost of My Installation: $1020 CAD
$30 Wiring Harness
$40 2x RCA to Speaker Cables
$350 Amp
$100 Sub
$30 Bass Control ****
$80 Amp Wiring Kit
$190 4x Door Speakers
$20 MDF Board +Hardware
$180 Sub Box (Shipping+Duty was expensive) Probably Should Have Built This Myself.

Time To Install: Approx 2 1/2 Days.
1 Day Each Side Wiring.
1/2 Day of mounting amplifier behind the seats.

Last edited by macaboo; 03-23-2011 at 07:08 PM.
The following users liked this post:
93Cobra#2771 (12-14-2012)
Old 02-19-2011, 11:34 AM

Received 1,523 Likes on 1,203 Posts

Looks good, visuals always help! lol
Old 02-19-2011, 11:58 AM
Huge Member