Topic Sponsor
Stereo/Audio Come discuss all Ford F150 Stereo and Audio questions here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: The Magic Brand

Big audio question need help

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2011, 09:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Big audio question need help

Ok so I have set out on this long hard journey to make a custom fiberglass box that will have cushions on it to keep functionality of passenger capacity...
Here's my problem Someone told me I need to port my enclosure which I agree but I'm not experienced enough to figure out a good sound frequency for the subs and the right port size can someone please help?... I think round ports will be easier with sonotube... Sense the box will be fiberglassed I don't know if I will be able to divide the enclosure but I have an idea on how to divide it if I have to...

Here's what I know
Speakers
2x DC level 3 12's
Suggested port enclosure volume= 1.5 ft3
Fs= 28.3 Hrz

Enclosure
Width= 56"
height= 19"
top depth= 19"
bottom depth= 25"
all together v= 6.019 ft3
If I divided it v= 2.648 ft3 per chamber

I want the port(s) open in the front
Any help/opinions would be greatly appreciated thank you in advance
Old 02-18-2011, 08:06 PM

I've done some of my own research and found out how some of this ported stuff works just kinda need an idea for a good size on a round port... The Internet port calculators are telling me I need a MINIMUM of like 10"???... That's only two inches less my sub size that just dont seem right and I can't have that coming out of the front of my box! Hahaha
Old 02-19-2011, 11:43 AM

Received 16 Likes on 8 Posts

I have built quite a few car and truck systems over the years (here are a few) and have found the sealed boxes to perform better for me. That is not to say I have not heard some really nice ported boxes, but I tried several of both and always went back to sealed. I use all ported in my home theater.