Anyone used FORScan for flat signal to DSP? - Page 3 - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

Topic Sponsor
Stereo/Audio Come discuss all Ford F150 Stereo and Audio questions here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anyone used FORScan for flat signal to DSP?

Old 02-18-2017, 12:10 AM
  #21  
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Georgia
Posts: 616
Thanked 54 Times in 52 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by lcsmall View Post
Thanks for every ones responses. Im using the Electra E6 CX. These will eventually be used for rear fill and i will get the Luccent L6 components for the front. Im using the RC 150 c5 Gladen Amp. While it is !00% better than stock sound, I want more. It seems there is no inexpensive route to a DSP and tunung.``
Most decent DSP`s that`ll do just about everything will start around the 500.00 range and go up.

I do like JL`s approach by using the Fix and the Twk. Both pieces will fall in the all the DSP one will need range. Plus, to have one piece with the main logic chip handling the de-equalization and the other piece with the same/another chip handling everything else, makes this combo very powerful.

Every other full DSP uses one chip and they all basically use the same chip.

If you go the DSP route, don`t forget about the cost of tuning if you can`t do it yourself.
GABAR is offline  
Old 02-18-2017, 07:31 AM
  #22  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 597
Thanked 55 Times in 53 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by GABAR View Post
Wow, they`re still making that thing?

I`m not sure of the age of it but it has to be between 7-10 years old.
just because something is older doesn't mean it isn't worth using. aside from my f150 my vehicles are 11, 31 and 34 years old but they all still perform just as they should they haven't made an alto mobile falstaff in longer than the ms-8 but it still sounds amazing in my car...
nineball is offline  
Old 02-18-2017, 10:50 AM
  #23  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 106
Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by GABAR View Post
The DM-810 looks like it`s going to be a good unit but Audio Control totally blew it years ago and now they`re trying to catch back up to the market.

If they really would have stuck to it, they could own the DSP market today because they owned it back in the mid 80`s to the early 90`s.

Also, I don`t think the DM-810 de-equalizes the factory preset equalization curve and I didn`t see anything in the manual on the website stating that it does.

Nice unit though.
Yes it does. You can flatten any set of outputs and then EQ to your liking. It's a sweet unit. It's just sitting on my workbench calling my name lol.
Grumble is offline  
Old 02-18-2017, 12:43 PM
  #24  
Ezekiel 25:17
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
UNBROKEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,831
Thanked 1,041 Times in 668 Posts
Default

My last build was a Clarion DRZ9255 into a 6to8v8 with RCD, a pair of Mosconi AS 200.4's, Focal Utopia Be 3 ways and an Illusion Carbon C12XL.
This time will be OEM head into a 6to8v8 with RCD, 3 Mosconi One amps for the size, Illusion Carbon C6, C6CX and C12.
I want to 100% hide everything this time.
UNBROKEN is offline  
Old 02-18-2017, 04:41 PM
  #25  
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Georgia
Posts: 616
Thanked 54 Times in 52 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by UNBROKEN View Post
My last build was a Clarion DRZ9255 into a 6to8v8 with RCD, a pair of Mosconi AS 200.4's, Focal Utopia Be 3 ways and an Illusion Carbon C12XL.
This time will be OEM head into a 6to8v8 with RCD, 3 Mosconi One amps for the size, Illusion Carbon C6, C6CX and C12.
I want to 100% hide everything this time.
I`ve always like those Illusion subs with their unconventional design and the location of the magnet but I hate the price.

I`m with you on hiding everything and that`s how my system will be.
GABAR is offline  
Old 02-20-2017, 04:17 PM
  #26  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Am I correct that if I keep the Illusion coaxs, I only need the Mosconi 4to6 DSP? It's if I go the components up front I then need the 6to8?

Originally Posted by GABAR View Post
Most decent DSP`s that`ll do just about everything will start around the 500.00 range and go up.

I do like JL`s approach by using the Fix and the Twk. Both pieces will fall in the all the DSP one will need range. Plus, to have one piece with the main logic chip handling the de-equalization and the other piece with the same/another chip handling everything else, makes this combo very powerful.

Every other full DSP uses one chip and they all basically use the same chip.

If you go the DSP route, don`t forget about the cost of tuning if you can`t do it yourself.
lcsmall is offline  
Old 02-20-2017, 07:52 PM
  #27  
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Georgia
Posts: 616
Thanked 54 Times in 52 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by lcsmall View Post
Am I correct that if I keep the Illusion coaxs, I only need the Mosconi 4to6 DSP? It's if I go the components up front I then need the 6to8?
Since you`re wanting a really nice processor, i`d go with the 6to8 so you`ll have better options for future system expansion and it`ll work with the components or coax speakers.

The current F150 is set up perfect for a killer 3-way front soundstage and this can be a future upgrade for you and the 6to8.

Hope this helps.
GABAR is offline  
Old 02-20-2017, 10:22 PM
  #28  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Thanks for taking the time to answer. I really appreciate it!


Originally Posted by GABAR View Post
Since you`re wanting a really nice processor, i`d go with the 6to8 so you`ll have better options for future system expansion and it`ll work with the components or coax speakers.

The current F150 is set up perfect for a killer 3-way front soundstage and this can be a future upgrade for you and the 6to8.

Hope this helps.
lcsmall is offline  
Old 02-25-2017, 07:07 PM
  #29  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 106
Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Default

FYI - DM-810 and auto-equalization:




[youtube]TJcM6FSokZE[/youtube]
Grumble is offline  
Old 02-25-2017, 09:55 PM
  #30  
Mass Effect
 
_MacLeod_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 291
Thanked 70 Times in 60 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Grumble View Post
FYI - DM-810 and auto-equalization:


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TJcM6FSokZE


[youtube]TJcM6FSokZE[/youtube]
That is very cool. That's the same thing the JL Audio Fix does. That's the only 2 processors that do that and this Audiocontrol is the only one that does that in the same chassis as the manual DSP like time alignment, crossovers and EQ. That looks like a very nice DSP.
_MacLeod_ is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: