Topic Sponsor
Stereo/Audio Come discuss all Ford F150 Stereo and Audio questions here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: The Magic Brand

2018 XLT Sub-woofer-first stereo upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2018, 02:20 PM

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default 2018 XLT Sub-woofer-first stereo upgrade

Just bought a 2018 XLT with Sync 3 non-BO/Sony and the sound system could use some help. The bass is "ok" but I want to start with enhancing this since it's relatively easy (or so I think). Let me also say I'm not a professional at anything including what I do for a living, I've made a career out of knowing a little about and or being willing to try a little of everything. I'm not scared to be wrong, I welcome tips and guidance on how to do things better, I almost always do things twice because I failed at it the first time but my point is if I can do it, so can you.

My Goal: To build a custom woofer box that fits a down firing thin 10" woofer under the 40% side of the back seat that matches the profile of the seat and allows full floor access to the 60% side if I fold up the seat. I want to do it for a less than the of the cost (not counting tools) of the factory kicker add on woofer, it needs to destroy it in quality and quantity of bass and hookup up to the rear c- pillar factory plug for source. I don't like spicing wires or messing with factory electrical.

First let me start off by thanking, @slodat, he built a rather impressive box for the back of his truck that gave me the ideas for mine. I clearly don't have his ability of shop full of tools for woodworking but I though I would give this a shot anyway. Feel free to chime in and steer me the right direction anytime......please.

Here is a picture of @slodat' box that inspired me: