2013 STX Head Unit Removal/Installation Procedure - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans



Stereo/Audio Come discuss all Ford F150 Stereo and Audio questions here!

2013 STX Head Unit Removal/Installation Procedure

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-04-2014, 06:22 PM   #1
Member
Thread Starter
 
dmc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 70
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default 2013 STX Head Unit Removal/Installation Procedure

Anybody got a good procedure for removing the factory head unit from a 2013 STX, non-nav, basic system? What do I need to do to get the factory head unit out?

I'm going to add a PACFRD24 so I'll have RCA outputs for a Kenwood sound powered amp.
Thanks.
dmc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 08:30 PM   #2
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Casper, WY.
Posts: 3,382
Thanked 317 Times in 294 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmc1 View Post
Anybody got a good procedure for removing the factory head unit from a 2013 STX, non-nav, basic system? What do I need to do to get the factory head unit out?

I'm going to add a PACFRD24 so I'll have RCA outputs for a Kenwood sound powered amp.
Thanks.
Should be the same as my 2011 XLT was. Check youtube.
Wyo11Scab is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Wyo11Scab For This Useful Post:
dmc1 (04-05-2014)
Old 04-04-2014, 09:53 PM   #3
Fleet Technician
 
Rnlcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Big Easy
Posts: 17,428
Thanked 3,224 Times in 2,539 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmc1 View Post
Anybody got a good procedure for removing the factory head unit from a 2013 STX, non-nav, basic system? What do I need to do to get the factory head unit out?

I'm going to add a PACFRD24 so I'll have RCA outputs for a Kenwood sound powered amp.
Thanks.

Does your dash look like this?



If so your SOL because the PAC is not compatible.

.
Rnlcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 11:32 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
SpeedViktm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Hutto, TX
Posts: 339
Thanked 33 Times in 29 Posts
Default

Pretty easy to do... couple of screws on top under the rubber mat. Pop the two side vent/pocket parts loose. I think there's a screw under the little black panel where the 3.5MM jack is. I haven't had mine apart in a few months.
SpeedViktm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 12:45 AM   #5
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Casper, WY.
Posts: 3,382
Thanked 317 Times in 294 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rnlcomp View Post
Does your dash look like this?



If so your SOL because the PAC is not compatible.

.
STX's have the old style dash
Wyo11Scab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 05:55 AM   #6
Member
Thread Starter
 
dmc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 70
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

No, mine has the basic system so the PAC will work.
dmc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 12:14 PM   #7
Fleet Technician
 
Rnlcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Big Easy
Posts: 17,428
Thanked 3,224 Times in 2,539 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmc1 View Post
No, mine has the basic system so the PAC will work.

Rnlcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 09:29 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
yamaharacer19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 27
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Let me know how this works out for you!!! I was debating on whether using the PACFRD24 or the LCQ-1 from Audio Control.
yamaharacer19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 10:00 PM   #9
Member
 
SargeF150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 50
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Ill be installing a double din on my STX as well. I opted to go with the Parrot Asteroid Smart for the head unit.
SargeF150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 06:17 PM   #10
Member
Thread Starter
 
dmc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 70
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Removed my radio this morning and installed the PACFRD24 and my Kenwood sound powered amp. What a difference! Anybody thinking about putting a amp on their stock head unit this is the way to go. Plug and play. Allows the use of RCA plugs. No searching for speaker wires for speaker level inputs. Very easy install just takes a little time. Came out great and sounds 10 times better.
dmc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2015 F150 XLT Screw Audio System Upgrade Log (Sync w/Nav, No Sony) 1Chad Stereo/Audio 252 10-12-2017 08:10 PM
My New 2015 and Initial Thoughts FlatBlack XD 2015 - Present Ford F150 18 07-05-2017 11:33 PM
CAI's , Pros Cons? DylanCulbreth 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 20 01-29-2016 12:04 PM
Need audio experts! Kalen427 Stereo/Audio 34 01-24-2016 04:54 PM
F-150 Audio System kmpconley 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 19 09-26-2015 12:00 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 2017 F150Forum.com We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: