Topic Sponsor
Stereo/Audio Come discuss all Ford F150 Stereo and Audio questions here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2013 Screw subwoofer upgrade ??????

 
Old 01-08-2019, 06:45 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Mebcode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Montgomery, TX
Posts: 71
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 2013 Screw subwoofer upgrade ??????

I ordered 2 subs and an amp for my truck. I'm hoping I can find a wiring harness adapter so that I can just unplug my factory sub and huy an adapter for it that converts the harness to RCA jacks that will plug in my Polk Audio amp. Does anybody know where I can find these or even if they make them? TIA
Mebcode is offline  
Old 01-09-2019, 01:54 AM
  #2  
F150 Jr Vendor
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 838
Received 115 Likes on 102 Posts
Default

I haven't seen any like that but you can use a standard harness and wire up the speaker wire to RCAs fairly easily. They make speaker wire to RCA connectors and they are cheap on Amazon.
__________________

AUTHORIZED DEALER

of all brands we sell, including MTI Acoustics, Helix, Zapco, Audio Frog, Second Skin, Audio Control, Skar Audio, Morel, Hertz, Audison, JL Audio, Focal, Mosconi, Clarion, Pioneer, Sony, Kenwood, Viper, and more.
PM me for special pricing as our contracts do not allow for posting prices publicly.
HushCarAudio is offline  
Old 01-09-2019, 08:24 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
dhmcfadin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2,706
Received 611 Likes on 485 Posts
Default

I would recommend using an LOC of som sort. The only reason being, the sub signal is a speaker level/high level signal. If you run high level via rca directly into the low level rca inputs of your amp, you will overdrive the input of the amp and potentially burn it up. PAC makes some very inexpensive units that are solid.
dhmcfadin is online now  
Old 01-09-2019, 09:16 AM
  #4  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Mebcode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Montgomery, TX
Posts: 71
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

So the reason I was asking is if I could just find an adapter like a Metra or something they make for the 2012s and earlier models I could just plug and play with my amp and not have to deal with pulling the factory SYNC head unit and dealing with that headache. Also could you guys attach links to what yall would suggest to use
Mebcode is offline  
Old 01-09-2019, 09:35 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
dhmcfadin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2,706
Received 611 Likes on 485 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Mebcode View Post
So the reason I was asking is if I could just find an adapter like a Metra or something they make for the 2012s and earlier models I could just plug and play with my amp and not have to deal with pulling the factory SYNC head unit and dealing with that headache. Also could you guys attach links to what yall would suggest to use
You dont need to pull the dash apart at all. Since you already have the factory sub, you already have a sub signal at the rear of the truck. I would simply either plug into that oem sub connector and run to your LOC or splice into that connector and run to your LOC. If you dont know what the plug is, you can send a couple pictures of the plug to DigiKey Applications Engineering [email protected] and ask for the mating connector to make your LOC truly plug and play, Either way, very simple to do. Keep asking questions lol!
dhmcfadin is online now  
Old 01-09-2019, 10:10 AM
  #6  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Mebcode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Montgomery, TX
Posts: 71
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by dhmcfadin View Post
You dont need to pull the dash apart at all. Since you already have the factory sub, you already have a sub signal at the rear of the truck. I would simply either plug into that oem sub connector and run to your LOC or splice into that connector and run to your LOC. If you dont know what the plug is, you can send a couple pictures of the plug to DigiKey Applications Engineering [email protected] and ask for the mating connector to make your LOC truly plug and play, Either way, very simple to do. Keep asking questions lol!
Awesome info. I will go take a pic in a few minutes of the plug and pin configuration and send to Digikey. Thanks very much. Also just as an FYI I am installing 2 6.5" Sundown Audio subs pushed by my Polk Audio 1000W amp.
Mebcode is offline  
Old 01-09-2019, 10:15 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
dhmcfadin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2,706
Received 611 Likes on 485 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Mebcode
Awesome info. I will go take a pic in a few minutes of the plug and pin configuration and send to Digikey. Thanks very much. Also just as an FYI I am installing 2 6.5" Sundown Audio subs pushed by my Polk Audio 1000W amp.
Awesome! That's gonna be some nice tight bass!!!
dhmcfadin is online now  
Old 01-09-2019, 06:05 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 225
Received 21 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

I’m looking for the same connector, was going to just cut the one off the Sony sub and use it, but if we can get the connector somewhere. Has anyone tried getting the connector from a dealer, is it even a separate part from the sub?
tsdahc is offline  
Old 01-09-2019, 07:57 PM
  #9  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Mebcode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Montgomery, TX
Posts: 71
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by tsdahc View Post
Iím looking for the same connector, was going to just cut the one off the Sony sub and use it, but if we can get the connector somewhere. Has anyone tried getting the connector from a dealer, is it even a separate part from the sub?
i looked at mine today and have decided to snip of the connector about 3 or 4 inches back (in case I want to spice it back in one day) and connect the wires to my LC2i. Then run rca jacks to my amp from the LC2i. Going to Lowes on my lunch break tomorrow to pick up the supplies to make my box. My 2 subs will be here Saturday. I already have everything else.
Mebcode is offline  
Old 01-10-2019, 09:32 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 1,135
Received 146 Likes on 131 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Mebcode View Post
Also just as an FYI I am installing 2 6.5" Sundown Audio subs pushed by my Polk Audio 1000W amp.
always wanted to play with a set of those subs. for some reason i really like good 6.5" and 8" subs and what you can do with them in a proper enclosure with proper tuning and power. i have a set of jbl gto804 subs in 2 of my cars, one being the f150, and i love to see peoples faces when i tell them it's just a pair of 8s. i've got two pairs of the original exodus anarchy 6.5" monsters. they are insane. i have one that i have used for testing purposes playing around with different enclosures for car and home and one pair still bnib.


nineball is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 2013 Screw subwoofer upgrade ??????


Contact Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: