2010 F150 XLT Radio - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

Topic Sponsor
Stereo/Audio Come discuss all Ford F150 Stereo and Audio questions here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2010 F150 XLT Radio

Reply

 
 
 
Old 10-21-2017, 06:15 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default 2010 F150 XLT Radio

Hi All,

First I want to apologize if the answer is on here somewhere and I missed it.

I recently purchased an aftermarket Android radio for my truck, after an hour or so I was unable to get it to power on even after matching the cables on the wiring harness that came with my dash kit still no power. I found this forum and see the post about a guy that got his working by connecting the accessory and 12v to the same wire on the harness but having to remember to power off the radio when I shut the truck off is going to get me into trouble. It seems as if the harness I received with the dash kit isn't the entire harness? I noticed it also doesn't have anything for the steering wheel controls although my radio does have the wiring for it.

Any tips would be great, I would love to be able to just have the radio power on/off like it normal without me having to do it manually each time.

Here is the dash kit I ordered.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Car-Radio-S...53.m2749.l2649

Thanks,

Last edited by JLCollins005; 10-21-2017 at 06:16 PM. Reason: added more
JLCollins005 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 02:20 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Victoria,TX
Posts: 3,544
Thanked 328 Times in 305 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by JLCollins005 View Post
Hi All,

First I want to apologize if the answer is on here somewhere and I missed it.

I recently purchased an aftermarket Android radio for my truck, after an hour or so I was unable to get it to power on even after matching the cables on the wiring harness that came with my dash kit still no power. I found this forum and see the post about a guy that got his working by connecting the accessory and 12v to the same wire on the harness but having to remember to power off the radio when I shut the truck off is going to get me into trouble. It seems as if the harness I received with the dash kit isn't the entire harness? I noticed it also doesn't have anything for the steering wheel controls although my radio does have the wiring for it.

Any tips would be great, I would love to be able to just have the radio power on/off like it normal without me having to do it manually each time.

Here is the dash kit I ordered.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Car-Radio-S...53.m2749.l2649

Thanks,
I can't remember for sure on that year but if you have all the harness wires matched then you need to find a switched power source to turn it on/off with the key. Running a wire from the fuse box is a good choice. Use a 12V tester to find a switched fuse and use a fuse tap for the power wire to the new radio.

The SWC is a separate item and you will need an adapter for that. I would suggest one from PAC.
Wyo11Scab is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 02:28 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the reply!

If I were to buy one of these would I be able to avoid messing with the fusebox?
https://www.crutchfield.com/g_751/Fa...-Adapters.html

Also noticed today when going to the store that I have a slight buzzing noise that goes away if I mute the audio, I read that it might be the ground not getting a good connection but if you have any thoughts on this I'd love to hear them as well.

I'm not familiar with PAC.

Thanks,

Last edited by JLCollins005; 10-22-2017 at 02:29 PM. Reason: more info
JLCollins005 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 04:43 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Victoria,TX
Posts: 3,544
Thanked 328 Times in 305 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by JLCollins005 View Post
Thanks for the reply!

If I were to buy one of these would I be able to avoid messing with the fusebox?
https://www.crutchfield.com/g_751/Fa...-Adapters.html

Also noticed today when going to the store that I have a slight buzzing noise that goes away if I mute the audio, I read that it might be the ground not getting a good connection but if you have any thoughts on this I'd love to hear them as well.

I'm not familiar with PAC.

Thanks,
which wiring harness did you get?
which hu did you get?

here is what i would i would use for the swc
https://axxessinterfaces.com/product...w%2F+CD+player
Wyo11Scab is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 06:16 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The harness I got is the one that came with the dash kit in the link, and the head unit is honestly some cheap android chinese unit I took a gamble on because it had pretty decent reviews.
JLCollins005 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2017, 01:20 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Victoria,TX
Posts: 3,544
Thanked 328 Times in 305 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by JLCollins005 View Post
The harness I got is the one that came with the dash kit in the link, and the head unit is honestly some cheap android chinese unit I took a gamble on because it had pretty decent reviews.
Well the cheap HU could be the sound of your hiss.
Does the wiring instructions have a turn on wire? Is it connected to the new harness you got? You really need a test light
If they are then the F150 uses CanBus to turn on the HU and you need to find another switched source like in the fuse box
Wyo11Scab is offline  
Reply With Quote
 
 
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: