Topic Sponsor
Introductions New to the site? Introduce yourself!

New guy need some opinions.

Old 07-26-2017, 12:04 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New guy need some opinions.

Hey guys I'm new to this site. I want to buy a pre-owned F-150. I want a 3.5 L EcoBoost. However I'm worried about the reliability of the engine. Particularly the Turbo System I'm an experienced automotive tech with diagnostic skills and access to Ford IDs.. have the 3.5 L had a lot of issues? They seem to be reliable and efficient. I will be buying a Ford but if the 3.5 liter is not a good engine I'd rather buy a 5 liter call it a day. Any for text with any opinions? thank you!
Old 07-26-2017, 09:57 AM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

I'm in the same boat. I'm in the market for a new truck, about to turn in my '14 F-150 lease. I've been doing a lot of research but just joined here today to get some more input.

I currently have the 5.0 and I do love it, but the 3.5 ecoboost is looking more and more promising when you look at the numbers. It has significant advantages in both towing and hauling. In several comparisons, I have read the 5.0 being called sluggish next to the 3.5, with the only upside being a small boost in HP at high RPM or when towing.

I'd be interested in hearing anything you learn, and good luck with your search.
Old 07-26-2017, 10:22 AM

Received 110 Likes on 84 Posts

I just bought my 15 3.5 in May, I chose it on recommendation of a good trusted friend that has put 200K total miles on 2 3.5 f150s over the past 2 years. He drives. It is his job. He hauls stuff with it. Lots of miles. Neither of his were ever in the shop for anything that wasn't normal scheduled maintenance.
I came to this truck from a 1 ton Dodge diesel. This thing drives just like it. Lots of power and torque. I love it so far.
However, if you run them hard. And I mean hot rod hard, parts wear out faster.
Old 07-26-2017, 11:08 AM