Topic Sponsor
Introductions New to the site? Introduce yourself!

Hello to all forum members.

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2008, 01:10 PM
Feeling my way through

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Hello to all forum members.

Hello to all forum members.
My background is computers but I have done many jobs in my life including running various equipment (usually loading trucks) and driving truck for twenty years. I had a radio install and repair business for a few years, I did a lot of car/truck repairs myself and have; rebuilt engines, changed about ten transmissions, did several engine installs, brakes, u-joints, and almost anything that happened to break I could replace or repair.
I currently upgrade and repair computers as well as install and teach linux to new users.
Most of my mechanical knowledge is acquired a bit at a time from other mechanics, Haynes manuals and online searches. Started doing my own repairs back in 1976.
I have just gotten my hands on a 1989 f150 2 wheel drive. It has all new wheel bearings, new steady bearing, new universal joints and the body is not too bad either. I'm in the middle of trading a great running 1988 toyota corolla for the f150 with my brother. I need a truck.
Problem is the truck won't idle at all. Pretty sure it's the tps and bro has a new one to put in as well as a new egr valve too. It starts and idles up for a sec or 2 then the check engine light comes on and it wants to stall if you don't give it a bit of throttle.
I'm going to change the oil and filter, fuel filter and the air filter. The plugs and wires might need changing too.