General F150 Discussion General Ford F150 truck discussions and questions
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rust on painted bumper and door panels

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2016, 10:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rust on painted bumper and door panels

Hi guys. This is my first time here and I have some questions and/or concerns about some small signs of rust on my 2014 f150.

It's an fx4 all white painted bumpers and throughout. Most particular in the front bumper, tiny tiny chips (most likely small stone chips) has made very small chips, cracks in the paint. I've started to see rust colour at those spots. I've also noticed on the drivers door for example several very small spots as well with signs of rust.

What can I do? I've owned the truck only for a few months now when I bought it in April. It's at 56000km. Is this eligible for warranty at all? I also extended to a 5 year 160k when the factory 60k runs out.

Im assuming it's not warranty worthy, but figured I'd ask if anyone has done that route.

If my only option is to touch it up, what exactly do I need to do? Every site I go to that explains how to remove rust are on chrome or non painted surfaces.

Is there a coating to protect from rust that I can apply, then use a touch up paint to hide it? Do I need to clean the area/rust before applying a rust coating or paint etc?

This is all new for me as you could probably guess. So every little detaIL you could spare would be greatly appreciated! Thanks for you help!
Old 06-26-2016, 08:42 PM

Received 124 Likes on 102 Posts

I think I know what you're talking about.
Look up a product called iron-x.
See if that helps.
Old 06-26-2016, 10:30 PM
TOTM November 2019

Received 11,600 Likes on 6,204 Posts