Topic Sponsor
General F150 Discussion General Ford F150 truck discussions and questions
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Recently bought a '97 creampuf with a sick engine--I couldn't help it!

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2015, 01:59 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Recently bought a '97 creampuf with a sick engine--I couldn't help it!

Hi guys--I am a newbie with a recent aquisition, I really like the truck for a lot of reasons, but it has all the usual problems under the hood. It's a 4.2 V6 with 115K miles. I knew it was rattley from the start, but it was clean, good lookin, and I was pretty sure I could do something with the engine to make er healthy. Just today I went to a couple of knowlegable mechanics to get a bid on fixing my engine--both said they wouldn't touch it. Next I went to a couple of wrecking yards to see what a good used motor might cost--they were also pessimistic, saying there were no good engines west of the Mississippi. I find that hard to believe, but everyone around my town is bustin my chops for being fool enough to buy this lemon. Hmmmm.
Two years ago I owned a 97 F150 with the same engine and drove it around 30K miles without incident. It had close to 200K miles at the time, and I really liked the truck.
So I found this one, a real nice lookin one CHEAP, and bought it. Now I have negative guys messin with me, and I am wanting to get some other opinions about the worthiness of this deal.
Specifically, are the 4.2 engines really useless, unworthy of repair? I am hesitant to remove the engine in my driveway even though I have a cherry picker, chains, etc. My problem is my age (64) and no help--it will be just me.