Topic Sponsor
General F150 Discussion General Ford F150 truck discussions and questions
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie Looking for reliability advice on buying an F150 vs Tundra vs Ram 1500

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2018, 12:45 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Newbie Looking for reliability advice on buying an F150 vs Tundra vs Ram 1500

I am a Newbie to the forum and have never owned an F150 before. My last truck was a 2015 Ram1500 that I had to sell due to personal reasons. I am currently contemplating buying a new truck, possibly an F150 or Tundra. Things that attract me to the F150 are the 2.7L Ecoboost, how fast it is and the Panoramic moonroof option and all the technology that F150 offers. What is keeping me from moving forward is many youtube videos of transmission issues, electrical problems etc. faced by new owners. I definitely need something extremely reliable and last for a long time. This will be my daily driver and will put anywhere from 15k to 20k miles per year. I am not going to tow a whole lot with it and if at all very light loads. I'd like to hear about your experiences as far as reliability and problems (if any) that you have experienced with the truck. Thanks.
The following users liked this post:
UncleG (03-02-2018)
Old 03-02-2018, 04:59 AM

Received 357 Likes on 262 Posts

If you want it proven to last, get the 5.0. Also, the 2.7 eco is not "faster" than the 5.0. The Tundra gets 15 mpg, unladen.

BRING ON THE CRAZY FUSSING AND ARGUING !!!
Old 03-02-2018, 07:45 AM
SSDD

Received 1,611 Likes on 1,125 Posts

It's the number one selling truck for a reason. Not to be a bias fan boy (you are on an F150 Forum, after all).
FIL owns a 15' Ram, it's pretty nice. I personally wouldn't get a Tundra. You're safe with all of the engine options in the F-150. You'll probably start getting opinions from the purist and self-certified experts on which to choose. I would drive them all and pick your favorite.