General F150 Discussion General Ford F150 truck discussions and questions
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking for first time F150 buyer advice

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2018, 09:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking for first time F150 buyer advice

Hi all, appreciate any advice you can provide!

I’m new to the truck market and have focused on the F150. Budget max is $45k. I’m coming from a 2010 Audi S4, I need the utility of a bed, mainly for baseball gear (I coach), throwing mountain bikes in the back, and normal house ownership chores.

I’m primarily looking at 2016/2017 used Lariat or Platinum if the right one comes along. Although not a lot of them in my area (Northern VA).

Question 1 - any specific options I should really look for?

Question 2 - anything I should avoid?

Question 3 - does it seem logical to just look into a less well equipped 2018?

Any additional advice is welcome, or if there’s an existing thread on this topic please pass that URL along!

thanks
Davd
Old 08-11-2018, 09:45 PM

Received 32 Likes on 25 Posts

Don’t buy used. Buy new the depreciation is not very good on used trucks. Unless it has 100k plus. For a little bit more you can get a new truck. Focus on the important things. Crew cab, 4x4, 10 speed trans, engine choice. Unless you tow a lot stick to gas. The maintenance is a lot cheaper on gas once you get some miles on it. My personal preference is the 5.0 because I want to drive the truck till the wheels fall off. But that your preference. 302a package is a good middle ground but that something you have to decide.
Old 08-12-2018, 12:12 AM
Martin

Received 257 Likes on 221 Posts