how do i change the code on the keypad entry?? - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans



how do i change the code on the keypad entry??

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-01-2008, 11:41 PM   #1
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Corona, California
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default how do i change the code on the keypad entry??

i bought my truck used from a dealer, but i never got the code for the outside kepad entry. Is there a way to make a new code???
robert4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 12:24 AM   #2
We'd do it
iTrader: (1)
 
Just call me Sean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orlando,Fl.
Posts: 32,657
Thanked 421 Times in 377 Posts
Default

The code should be on a card in the factory manual booklet. If you don't have the book then there are others that say it is written in certain locations of the truck but I can't remember what those locations were. Someone should be around to tell you, or you can search to find the older posts on the subject. You can program a new code but the dealer has to do it.

Be sure to list your year truck so others can better help you.
Just call me Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 01:01 AM   #3
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Corona, California
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

alright thanks.

the truck is a 2006 lariat
robert4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 11:36 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The factory location of the code is on the door lock module located behind the rear seat (in my crew cab f150) It is directly on top of it. I found instructions on how to remove the seat by searching key terms within f150 forum.
kenmoore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 10:29 AM   #5
08 February TOTM
 
whitecrystal1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dumfries, VA Member: #77
Posts: 3,184
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 5 Posts
Default

You cannot change to code, you can add a new code so that it's easier for you to remember but the old one will still work. You need the original code to program a second one. What year and cab configuration is your truck?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmoore View Post
The factory location of the code is on the door lock module located behind the rear seat (in my crew cab f150) It is directly on top of it. I found instructions on how to remove the seat by searching key terms within f150 forum.
Yep, this also applies with the crew cab too.
whitecrystal1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 11:50 AM   #6
Humoctopus
 
rcaddell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You CAN Change the code if so inclined. it requires removing the keyless entry module and changing the resistors that determine the code. A little more work than it is worth though.
rcaddell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 03:12 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitecrystal1 View Post
You cannot change to code, you can add a new code so that it's easier for you to remember but the old one will still work.
So, if I buy used the original owner and anybody they may have told can access my truck?
Tupperware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 06:26 PM   #8
08 February TOTM
 
whitecrystal1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dumfries, VA Member: #77
Posts: 3,184
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tupperware View Post
So, if I buy used the original owner and anybody they may have told can access my truck?
Yes... unless you go through the trouble and change the resistor in the keyless entry module like said above. I've never heard that was an option but it does make since that that is a way to wipe the old code and start fresh, other than just changing out the whole module.
whitecrystal1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 05:02 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Henderson, NV.
Posts: 4,639
Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
Default

Just a thought to eliminate original keypad number. Cut the wire from one of the pads buttons. Lt bl/yel is from the 1-2 button. Reprogram as mentioned earlier. Make sure it works. Now cut the wire from the 1-2 button. Just make sure the new combo does not use the button being eliminated. If I make my self clear.
Good old Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 09:22 AM   #10
Humoctopus
 
rcaddell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Wiltshire View Post
Just a thought to eliminate original keypad number. Cut the wire from one of the pads buttons. Lt bl/yel is from the 1-2 button. Reprogram as mentioned earlier. Make sure it works. Now cut the wire from the 1-2 button. Just make sure the new combo does not use the button being eliminated. If I make my self clear.
Negative. Cutting the wire from a button that is part of the hard code after you set a soft code will only work temporarily. As soon as the battery is disconnected codes revert back to factory only. All soft codes are lost and need to be reprogrammed. With the cut wire, you would effectively dismantle the keypad feature. You could, of course, reconnect that wire (when you cut it put some connectors on each end for easy plug in/unplug), reset your soft codes, disconnect the wire. However, if you are going through that much trouble, you might as well reprogram the box by changing the resistors.
rcaddell is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ABS light, Brake light, Check Brake System and anti skid indicators on analog readout jgriffinemt 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 16 Today 05:01 PM
2010 5.4L 3V Rough Idle - Help Ottawavalleylad 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 11 06-23-2016 01:43 PM
Trans fault/OD flashing will not shift to 2nd tenshooter 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 4 09-11-2015 11:35 AM
Truck won't accelerate past 3000rpm stephens95 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 5 09-09-2015 05:05 PM
Help with Keyless Entry Saleen9165 Maintenance Shop 4 09-07-2015 10:57 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:32 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 2017 F150Forum.com
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send