Sponsored by:

Firefighter Light Bar issues

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2009, 10:16 PM
Hokie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Firefighter Light Bar issues

Hey everyone,

i recently purchased a 48" low-profile LED lightbar for my truck as i am a volunteer firefighter. i got it for 350 on craigslist when their worth thousands of dollars new!

so heres my issue

i put it on (perminant mount) and its so secured to the roof that it makes little dimples in the reflection near the mounts so i know its SUPER secured. i was taking it for a test drive and i got over 50 mph and i heard this low pitched rumbling and i touched the roof of my truck and felt it vibrating at the same pitch as the sound

my thoughts:

i thought that maybe the lightbar is tilted slightly backwards (like a reverse spoiler) and is catching air under it and wanting to lift off like a wing and will only vibrate when winds are over 50mph

could my bug-deflector on the front of the hood mess up my aerodynamics on the roof?

could i make some sort of a wind deflector or a spoiler to mount on the front and bottom of the lightbar to direct wind over it? like the front slope of a roof rack or a spoiler?

any ideas on aerodynamics?

any ideas at all?

thanks everyone

***This is also posted in the Aftermarket Parts section***
Old 11-30-2009, 11:25 PM

Default jsut a idea

im also a fellow firefighter and my chief has a 2009 tahoe with the low profile bar . all of those are are slightly tilted forward . but with that in mind you will hear a little bit of wind noise . but on newer vehicals you wont hear anything diff. trying adjusting the bar than the deflector
Old 12-01-2009, 01:32 AM
off roading member

also a fellow fire fighter.... our batallion chief has an expedition with a whelen liberty low pro light bar i believe his is tilted forward a bit also.. ill check tomorrow and let you know.. what brand lightbar are you running??
Old 12-01-2009, 02:59 AM
Dirty South's Finest