Topic Sponsor
General F150 Discussion General Ford F150 truck discussions and questions
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Electronics

 
Old 02-09-2008, 10:59 PM
  #1  
Riding In The South
Thread Starter
 
BroganF150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Myrtle Beach
Posts: 275
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electronics

Has anyone ever wired the keyless entry and remote start to there vehicles. i found a kit for about 100 bucks and it has directions and all in it but im not sure how tuff the job will be any advice?
BroganF150 is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 11:03 PM
  #2  
Ty
Senior Member
 
Ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Minocqua Wi
Posts: 6,988
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

dont go with a cheep kit, and get a 2 way if you can.

do you know if your truck uses a PATS key?
Ty is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 11:09 PM
  #3  
Riding In The South
Thread Starter
 
BroganF150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Myrtle Beach
Posts: 275
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

what you mean by 2 way and know i dont even know what pats keys are
BroganF150 is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 11:15 PM
  #4  
Ty
Senior Member
 
Ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Minocqua Wi
Posts: 6,988
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

a 2 way starter system tells you if your truck is running, the temp outside, the temp in your truck, if your doors are locked, and if the doors are open.

a PATS key is a key that has a chip in it so that the truck will only start the truck if the key is cut right, AND the chip in the key is programed right.

the reason that I ask is because if you have a pats key, you need to get a second one, and place it in a bypass module inside the truck, so that the truck can be started remotely, and that truck is fooled into thinking that the PATS key is in the ignition.
Ty is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 11:17 PM
  #5  
Riding In The South
Thread Starter
 
BroganF150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Myrtle Beach
Posts: 275
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

yes my key has a chip in it but what you mean put it in the module? no clue man and arent those remotes really expensive
BroganF150 is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 11:21 PM
  #6  
Ty
Senior Member
 
Ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Minocqua Wi
Posts: 6,988
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

you only get what you pay for, and those 100 dollar systems don't have much for range.

check out some manufacture websites, they will have all of the information you need.
Ty is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 11:22 PM
  #7  
Riding In The South
Thread Starter
 
BroganF150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Myrtle Beach
Posts: 275
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

thanks
BroganF150 is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 11:24 PM
  #8  
Ty
Senior Member
 
Ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Minocqua Wi
Posts: 6,988
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

and if price is your deciding factor, check ebay and amazon.

I helped my buddy's girlfriend find him a 2 way system off of amazon last year for about 169 shipped I think (if I can remember right)
Ty is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 11:27 PM
  #9  
Riding In The South
Thread Starter
 
BroganF150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Myrtle Beach
Posts: 275
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

alright
BroganF150 is offline  
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Electronics


Contact Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: