General F150 Discussion General Ford F150 truck discussions and questions
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Adding lights to the cargo box?

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2010, 03:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Adding lights to the cargo box?

There is a set of LED flood lights on sale that come with the wiring and a switch. How hard is it to set these up in the box of a truck? Is there a power supply close by that I could use. I'm not very good with electrical work and some of the searches I've done seem pretty complicated. I just want to add some light under the tonneau and I'm not sure if I can pull this off without making a complete mess! lol
Old 11-07-2010, 04:00 PM

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts

After going shopping with my wife one night last week, I want to do the same thing. With the cover on and the bed liner done, the bed is like a black hole at night! Any ideas?
Old 11-07-2010, 05:59 PM

I know they sell actual kits for this but they are pricey, the kit I'm looking at is under 20$.
Old 11-07-2010, 06:13 PM

oh nice i want to do this to my truck to what kit are you looking at?
Old 11-07-2010, 07:06 PM

It's an LED fog light kit with all the hookups. Two rectangular lights with 6 LED's in each one. The brackets to attach them swivel to, so I could point then wherever. I'm just not sure how to hook them up.
Old 11-08-2010, 07:23 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I did the same in my dads truck with 4 18" LED strip lights, I just ran a wire to the battery from the bed to the engine compartment. The wire goes to a waterproof switch hidden under the rail cap and then provides illumination from the lights also hidden under it. Looks great at night.
To get to the switch I ran the wires over the top of the gas tank, and then to get to the front of the truck, we ran the wires along the frame and followed ford-installed wiring to the battery.