Topic Sponsor
Super Duty Forum Talk about Super Duty and Heavy Duty Ford trucks here.

6.0 diesel

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2014, 08:35 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 6.0 diesel

What do you all think about the 6.0 diesel? I am new to them I am buying one here in a. Couple of weeks.
Old 02-06-2014, 06:07 PM
POWWWERRR!!!!!

Received 167 Likes on 116 Posts

There is a LOT to know, and let me reiterate, A LOT to know about the 6.0, two of the most important things being: you absolutely CANNOT skip maintenance and, if you are on a tight budget, the 6.0. (Or any diesel for that matter) is not for you.

Check out Powerstroke.org, Powerstroke Army, both of those are good forums, PowerstrokeHelp on YouTube is a very good source of info too.

Research research research!!!!! Google common 6.0 problems(head gaskets, failed EGR coolers/valves etc)

The 6.0 is a fantastic platform. I love driving them and working on them, but they do have shortcoming's that have to be dealt with.
Old 02-06-2014, 06:28 PM

Received 6,199 Likes on 4,672 Posts

Back in 04 when they were 1st hitting the dealers I hadn't much chance to learn about them as I am 7.3 PSD certified, but from what I learned from the 7.3 is if you buy one you better be using it to make $$$ because even a simple oil change is going to ding the wallet. I think that probably applies to all Ford diesel trucks.

One of the things I learned about the 6.0 that stuck in memory is the method of changing the FEAD belt, what a fuster cluck.

Old 02-06-2014, 06:37 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Thank u guess I got some thinking to do
Old 02-06-2014, 06:42 PM

Received 871 Likes on 695 Posts

A lot of people don't like them but I do personally.

Zoodad Mod
CCV Mod
EGR Delete
4" Turbo Back Exhaust
Tune
Fords Updated Blue FPR Spring
And stay ontop your oil changes. A cetane booster is great as well as a product called Rev X is great to line injectors.