Topic Sponsor
Pre- 1987 / Classic Corner Have a classic Ford F150 truck? Want a classic? Discuss your pre-1987 Ford F150 truck.

Rebuild Need Timing help '83 4x4 w/ 351w

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2011, 11:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Rebuild Need Timing help '83 4x4 w/ 351w

I have a worn timing chain that has jumped, and cant find any info that tells me how to set the valve timing from scratch. All that I know is that the timing marks should be at 12o'clock on crank gear and 6o'clock on cam gear. I have tried about every way that I can think of to set it, but just cant get it right. If anyone out there could please shed some light onto this mystery I sure would be very thankfull. I have been told that all I have to do is set piston 1 to TDC and the line up the marks an thats it, but... I cant get it to work. I am getting compression readings from 30 to 65 no matter how I set it. I need to know the exact process as if I was a complete noob to working on motors. I have done this before once but it was on a 4banger that had not jumped so at this point im completely lost in the dark.
Old 10-16-2011, 04:11 PM
Old Bastard

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

With compression rating that low you're dealing with more than timing. You have some internal damage going on

Last edited by kc0rey; 10-16-2011 at 04:46 PM.
Old 10-18-2011, 07:36 AM

Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts

I agree with Kc about the low compression. As for the timing thing, its as simple as you stated. Just remember, the camshaft rotates 1/2 the speed of the crankshaft, so the mark on it can be either up or down. Mark down is easier to see in my opinion. Remember to put #1 on compression stroke and recheck the distributor timing.
Old 10-18-2011, 07:50 AM
Old Bastard

Originally Posted by Good old Bill