Topic Sponsor
Pre- 1987 / Classic Corner Have a classic Ford F150 truck? Want a classic? Discuss your pre-1987 Ford F150 truck.

Mechanical Fuel Pump Replacement - '86 F150 4.9L

Old 07-18-2017, 05:38 PM
New Learner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mechanical Fuel Pump Replacement - '86 F150 4.9L

I just joined up to the forum yesterday and today I've started my first "project" on my F150. I mentioned in my introductory post that, although I've had late model F150's, I've always wanted an older one for my son and I to learn to tinker around with and to someday pass down to him. I'm a total novice when it comes to car repairs but there's only one way to learn!

This truck has been running pretty good since I bought it. It's an 86 model with 4.9L I6 300. I had a new carb put in (didn't have the guts to tackle that myself) and new tires. Other than that, it's run fairly well. All of a sudden the other day, it wouldn't start up. Tried and tried to no avail. Used starter fluid and it started right away but kept shutting off after a couple seconds. I'm sure there's numerous things that could cause this but, from what I've read (here), it seems the fuel pump is a good first culprit to look at. I thought it'd be the perfect first project for me to attempt myself. I looked around and couldn't find any exact documentation or videos for replacing the fuel pump for my particular truck, so I thought I'd document it here as best as I could. I'm waiting for the replacement pump to come in on Thurs so I won't be able to finish it up until this weekend. Wish me luck.