Topic Sponsor
Pre- 1987 / Classic Corner Have a classic Ford F150 truck? Want a classic? Discuss your pre-1987 Ford F150 truck.

battery wont charge

Old 06-20-2009, 09:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default battery wont charge

so I have a 1985 f150 xlt 5.8l v8, i wasn't getting any charge to the battery, so i replaced the battery, voltage regulator and alternator. I've tested the wiring from the alt to the relay at ignition, from alt to firewall, but from alt directly to voltage reg I get nothing, but resistance in the wire is fine. Any ideas? How can i find a wiring schematic? How can i tell the difference between 2bbl and 4bbl. Yes Im very new to working on my own car so Im just learning.

Cheers
Old 06-24-2009, 04:51 PM
GL~
Farmer Noob

Received 5 Likes on 1 Post

A 2 bbl carb wil have a flap on top that opens and closes. Inside will be two holes or barrels.

A 4 bbl will have 4 holes and is usually a lot bigger and more complex looking.

It should be fairly obvious once you take off the air filter.
Old 06-25-2009, 06:40 PM

Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts

Hopefully my input is for the correct system. If you have an external voltage regulator, you need 12 volts to the Alternators "A" terminal and also to the "F" terminal. If this is not present the alternator will not charge. Disconnect the voltage regulator and jumper the A to the F terminal. This will full field the alternator and make it charge to capacity. Seen your other post seeking the wiring wiagram, wish I could help with that. It does sound like you have a wiring issue. Do this, engine off, is there 12 volts at A terminal of the alternator or test light on. If so, good, now start engine and with a jumper wire connect the A to the F at the alternator, it will charge now if alternator is good. Wish I was there with you buddy, this is an easy system to work on. Do not trust the gauge inside the truck use a voltmeter at the battery or watch for test light intensity to increase.
Old 06-26-2009, 08:26 PM