Topic Sponsor
Pre- 1987 / Classic Corner Have a classic Ford F150 truck? Want a classic? Discuss your pre-1987 Ford F150 truck.

85 302 EFI worries..

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2019, 02:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 85 302 EFI worries..

I've got a 85 F150 4x4 Pickup with the flareside bed and wood boards. It's got the 5.0 V8 302 fuel injected motor with power locks and such, but bare interior. Project truck/daily driver, becoming less daily driver more project.

Main issues:
The most concerning issue I've experienced recently is that I'm hearing a knock coming from the engine bay. I've no experience delving that deep into my engine, so any advice or experience yall could share would ease my mind.

The knock is accompanied by an amount of smoke coming from the bay as well. My thinking is a gasket, either valve, or head gasket, has broken and is leaking oil on the exhaust manifold. I have noticed it does leak oil. That, or it its burning/smoking within the vale cover area, under the filler cap. On the drivers side valve cover, where the oil filler cap/PCV valve USED to be, I have installed an aftermarket breathing oil reservoir cap. I taped shut the inlet (from the PCV valve) on the air box that houses the air filter (the PCV valve was not sealed well at the box, and was shooting oil from the valve cover area into the air cleaner, a long with getting gunked up in the line) this is where I thought my engine troubles were beginning. I understand the use of the PCV valve for emissions control, but as far as the operations and whether it needs to be sealed within the air cleaner box like it was factory.

BLUF
Does the PCV system pressurize and require a tight seal? Is a breathing oil cap not advised for this engine? Is the PCV valve getting oil/dirty air running through it a sign of a further issue with the engine?