Topic Sponsor
Pre- 1987 / Classic Corner Have a classic Ford F150 truck? Want a classic? Discuss your pre-1987 Ford F150 truck.

1979 Custom

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2011, 08:17 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry 1979 Custom

Ok, I need some help here. I am new to personally working on a vehicle so any advice will be greatly appreciated. I recently swapped a Mustang for a 1979 Ford F150 Custom with the 300 straight 6 and the 4 speed manual transmission. When I brought it home I found it had no battery, no starter, no spark plugs and no wires. So of course I bought a new battery, a new starter, new plugs and a new set of wires and I tested the solenoid which showed it was getting power. My problem is is that it still wont turn on at all. Now I've heard conflicting reports that there is and yet there was not a neutral safety switch. Could this be an issue or was there even one? Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!
Old 08-12-2011, 11:24 PM

Received 31 Likes on 30 Posts

Originally Posted by 1979custom
Ok, I need some help here. I am new to personally working on a vehicle so any advice will be greatly appreciated. I recently swapped a Mustang for a 1979 Ford F150 Custom with the 300 straight 6 and the 4 speed manual transmission. When I brought it home I found it had no battery, no starter, no spark plugs and no wires. So of course I bought a new battery, a new starter, new plugs and a new set of wires and I tested the solenoid which showed it was getting power. My problem is is that it still wont turn on at all. Now I've heard conflicting reports that there is and yet there was not a neutral safety switch. Could this be an issue or was there even one? Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!
What do you mean by "wont turn on at all"?
Do the gauges and such turn on?
Does the starter crank the engine but no start?