Topic Sponsor
2021+ Ford F150 Discussion of the 14th generation F150.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Sulfur/Natural Gas smell from Powerboost

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2021, 12:05 AM
F150GFK

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Sulfur/Natural Gas smell from Powerboost

I have a 2021 Limited Powerboost and noticed when the truck is in electric mode and I come to a complete stop I smell sulfur/natural gas or something like that. Has anyone else had this issue? Google says overcharged/leaking battery or maybe bad catalytic converter? (I’m not a big mechanical type)

Last edited by Andrew Levine; 03-01-2021 at 11:17 PM.
Old 03-07-2021, 12:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Andrew Levine
I have a 2021 Limited Powerboost and noticed when the truck is in electric mode and I come to a complete stop I smell sulfur/natural gas or something like that. Has anyone else had this issue? Google says overcharged/leaking battery or maybe bad catalytic converter? (I’m not a big mechanical type)
Not sure about your problem, and do not know much about theses new systems.We just replaced a Power Transfer Unit (PTU) in our MKX because of the natural gas smell. I would be curious what they tell you is wrong.
Old 07-01-2021, 10:24 PM

Unhappy Same thing

Originally Posted by Andrew Levine
Hi Andrew, were able to figure it that problem? I have the same issue, took it to the dealer, and they told me not to use the towing mode unless for a very short period which doesn't make sense! Please let me know if you can share any tips. Thanks.
Old 07-01-2021, 11:28 PM
F150GFK

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by samjan
Hi Andrew, were able to figure it that problem? I have the same issue, took it to the dealer, and they told me not to use the towing mode unless for a very short period which doesn't make sense! Please let me know if you can share any tips. Thanks.