Topic Sponsor
Performance, Tuning, and (LEGAL) Racing Post discussions about increasing performance, capabilities, and racing. ****WARNING**** Street racing or illegal activities will be removed and potential bans will be handed out.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

new guy here. 2018 Whipple SC issues.

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2019, 05:55 PM

Received 337 Likes on 122 Posts
Default new guy here. 2018 Whipple SC issues.

Greetings F150 community. I currently own a 2018 F150 and I installed the stage 2 whipple kit over the weekend. Install took about 10 hrs and was pretty easy and straight forward. I'm a 14yr Mercedes-Benz master tech so I know my way around a wrench. My concerns are that I have the updated closed airbox and the fitment is terrible. I'm shocked and it seems like this was a last minute after thought. I ended up installing 2 thread-serts into the core support to mount the scoop to the support. The oem clips would not hold as the molding is off. I feel also that the hood is hitting the air scoop. The actual airbox screws are about an inch too short as well. Also i'm getting a check engine light after 2 key cycles. ( 2282 fault if I remember correctly) basically the fault code is stating I have a vacuum leak from the booster to the TB. I have a feeling this is an erroneous fault and I have no driveabilty concerns. am I missing anything? I will be contacting whipple tomorrow so I can get additional info. other than that the truck is bone stock with only 2400 miles. I only live 30 mins from palm beach dyno so i'm thinking in the future of going down a pulley size and getting a custom tune but for now the truck is a beast as it sits. again welcome everyone.
Old 03-17-2019, 06:07 PM

Received 22 Likes on 16 Posts

Other people with the new airbox have the same issues with fitment. I hope whipple corrects this immediately.
Old 03-17-2019, 10:17 PM

Received 428 Likes on 336 Posts