Topic Sponsor
Maintenance Shop Keep your Ford F150 truck running strong. Discuss all things maintenance here.

P0345, P0349, P2197 codes, please help!

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2013, 09:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default P0345, P0349, P2197 codes, please help!

First, I did search these forums but never found the same exact problem. I found problems very simliar, but the poster never posted to what they actually found the problem to be, after countless people giving ideas.
Second, this is going to be a slightly longer post... Sorry.
Third, I am a diesel engine mechanic, but will admit that I don't know much about gas engines. Silly spark plugs :-)

I have a 2005 F150 with the 5.4 3 valve in it. 178,000 miles, Regular maint, never ever every had a problem. I'm the first owner, getting the truck with 14 miles on it. Never once let my wife drive it hehehe.

Regualr maint, execpt spark plugs. After being scared by everybody having problems, I finally did it for the FIRST time now. I broke (expected) 6 plugs total. I was able to extract all the broken plugs, except 4 and 8 (go figure).

After hours of trying, I decided what the heck, the heads are coming off. I tore the engine down to nothing, pulled the heads and extracted the broken plugs.

I bought the alldata subscription for my truck, and followed it to a T for reassembly.

I made the mistake of picking up one of my heads by the cam gear, and the cam flopped on me. No big deal... right? I followed the proceure to a T to re-time my engine... Finished the engine rebuild without a problem, and a very very expensice head gasket kit from felpro.

Started the truck, and the engine spit and sputtered, barely idling at around 400RPM. Let it idle for a while to work out the kinks, no change. Pulled battery terminals again, pulled and reconnected ecm plugs again, same with the alternator.

Started the truck, still spitting and sputtering. Throttled up to 2000RPM, runs smooth. BAM, check engine light comes on.