Topic Sponsor
Maintenance Shop Keep your Ford F150 truck running strong. Discuss all things maintenance here.

Okay, let's go over this again......

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2012, 07:35 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Okay, let's go over this again......

Okay, I've asked this before. I'm just looking for a little clarification, as I have never done anything cosmetic before. I want to paint/undercoat all of the metal underneath the truck. I also have step bars that are pitted with rust and I would like to paint get them back to black. Right now they are mostly faded and orange with surface rust. I also have a brush guard that I like, but its got some two big gaping rusted out holes about and inch and a half across where the po decided it would be a good idea to cut off the top cross member. Right now they are taped up, but I'd like to fix it if possible- I can't weld though. What are the best tools and methods I can employ to do accomplish all of these things myself to where it actually not only looks good but is effective in preventing the rust problem from getting worse? My tool chest consists of a new sanding wheel for my cordless drill, a big wire brush and a little wire brush. I am having to do this laying on my back in my gravel driveway. Should I get a rubberized undercoat and hit everything metal, or is a rust inhibiting lacquer like Rustoleum okay, or should I undercoat somethings, and just spray paint some others? I live in central NC, so we don;t get a lot of snow, mostly ice, so maybe once or twice a year they slag the roads. I'm just dealing with a Connecticut truck, so I'm having to play catch up.
Old 10-14-2012, 08:48 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts