Topic Sponsor
Maintenance Shop Keep your Ford F150 truck running strong. Discuss all things maintenance here.

Is the dealership trying to shaft me? "BG Fuel System Service"

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2017, 09:06 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Default Is the dealership trying to shaft me? "BG Fuel System Service"

Took my 2013 F150 FX4 (5.0 V8) 48k miles. Runs fine. No issues.
in for an oil change, and the dealer tells me I need a "fuel system service for $205, and they point to a generic, non-vehicle-specific, "maintenance schedule" on the desk. I declined, and asked why my F150 owner manual looks nothing like the maintenance schedule you are using to justify this advice. They just gave a "political" answer.....blah blah. No reason then.

I'm no mechanic, but I know my vehicle manual says nothing about needing a fuel system clean or other major service every 30k. it's just the basic stuff, and major stuff kicks in at 100k.

I use recommended fuel, etc. Normal/light use of truck. I think the dealer is doing the usual bull****, unnecessary sell, do you agree?

My Ford 2013 manual
The (bull****?) thing on the service desk they pointed to
Old 11-10-2017, 11:30 AM

Received 36 Likes on 25 Posts

Yeah... No. I'd ask them to top off your halogen fluid tank and check the turn signal indicator ballast too.

https://www.bgprod.com/catalog/gasol...ystem-cleaner/

That's an expensive can of bull*****. Id be grabbing my keys and leaving at that point for them trying to rip you off.

Last edited by PlasmaJab; 11-10-2017 at 11:33 AM.
Old 11-10-2017, 11:32 AM

Received 669 Likes on 459 Posts

You can report this to Ford HQ. Dealers were sent a letter to stop pushing the "fake" required services.

There is a thread somewhere on here with the letter.
The following users liked this post:
Ricktwuhk (11-10-2017)
Old 11-10-2017, 11:38 AM

Man Can we get a relink to that if it comes up? Id love to have that in hand with some of the dealerships Ive seen.
Old 11-10-2017, 12:33 PM