Upgrading my sub, need a little wiring help - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans



2015 - Present Ford F150 General discussion on the latest generation Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Upgrading my sub, need a little wiring help

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-13-2017, 09:45 PM   #1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Toovey2v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Great White North
Posts: 179
Thanked 31 Times in 22 Posts
Default Upgrading my sub, need a little wiring help

Alright guys so I've searched and searched and searched on this topic for a while, I have the Sony stereo, and I've picked up a shallow 10" alpine type R, box small enough to put it behind the seat in the factory location, and line out converter, I have an amp, wiring kit and capacitor from a previous vehicle already...

What I need help with is a constant 12v power for the line out converter, as well as an accessory 12v signal for it and the amp.

I remember reading a thread where someone did this off of their power inverter, at least for the signal they did, but I can't find the thread now, I'd prefer to do this as close to the amp and sub as possible instead of going to the fuse box, but if I absolutely have to go to the fuse box then I will.

Can't wait to hear how this is going to sound.

Thanks in advance.
Toovey2v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 12:02 AM   #2
J15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,117
Thanked 266 Times in 195 Posts
Default

You don't need a constant 12V source for the line out converter. You need a switched source that's hot when the ACC/run circuits are activated. Grab your owner's manual and look up the kick panel fuse diagram. Pick a circuit that's hot when you need it, hook up an add-a-circuit ($5-$10 at autozone), and run your power wire from the kick panel to the terminals on your converter/amp remote turn on terminal.
J15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 12:07 AM   #3
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Toovey2v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Great White North
Posts: 179
Thanked 31 Times in 22 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J15 View Post
You don't need a constant 12V source for the line out converter. You need a switched source that's hot when the ACC/run circuits are activated. Grab your owner's manual and look up the kick panel fuse diagram. Pick a circuit that's hot when you need it, hook up an add-a-circuit ($5-$10 at autozone), and run your power wire from the kick panel to the terminals on your converter/amp remote turn on terminal.
Thanks for the input, the line our converter I got has both switched and constant for whatever reason, I'll take a look at it again when I'm done work, if I don't need a constant for it then I won't hook one up but when I was purchasing it they pulled it out of the package and showed me the terminals on it, and there was definitely both on there.

Any ideas on pulling the switched power from the inverter? I still can't find that post and I'm looking.
Toovey2v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 12:20 AM   #4
2015 F150 PLATNIUM Anch
 
leckbandg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Anchorage Ak
Posts: 374
Thanked 56 Times in 45 Posts
Default

PACaudio.com
Will allow you to keep Sony amp and instal your amp . Having this put into my 2015 Platinum Screw with Sony stereo
AP4-FD21 , also check you tube for additional info on this product

Last edited by leckbandg; 09-14-2017 at 12:30 AM.
leckbandg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 12:33 AM   #5
J15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,117
Thanked 266 Times in 195 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toovey2v View Post
Thanks for the input, the line our converter I got has both switched and constant for whatever reason, I'll take a look at it again when I'm done work, if I don't need a constant for it then I won't hook one up but when I was purchasing it they pulled it out of the package and showed me the terminals on it, and there was definitely both on there.

Any ideas on pulling the switched power from the inverter? I still can't find that post and I'm looking.
You don't want that pulling power when the stereo is off, especially if the engine is off. It should only be on when the stereo is on.
J15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 12:46 AM   #6
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Toovey2v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Great White North
Posts: 179
Thanked 31 Times in 22 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J15 View Post
You don't want that pulling power when the stereo is off, especially if the engine is off. It should only be on when the stereo is on.
See and that was my thoughts exactly... I'm not sure what the constant power would be for on this line out converter, I'll post a picture of it later.

If I don't need constant power for it then that makes things a bit easier for hooking all this up.
Toovey2v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 02:45 AM   #7
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Toovey2v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Great White North
Posts: 179
Thanked 31 Times in 22 Posts
Default

It looks like there's a couple ways to hook it up, but as you said no constant, which definitely makes the guy at the store sound like he knows what he's doing lol.

Maybe someone can chime in about the switches power from the inverter before I have to run a wire from the fuse box.





Toovey2v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 09:41 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: scotch plains, nj
Posts: 494
Thanked 35 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toovey2v View Post
I've picked up a shallow 10" alpine type R, box small enough to put it behind the seat in the factory location
.
care to share some details ?
Aashu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 11:50 AM   #9
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Toovey2v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Great White North
Posts: 179
Thanked 31 Times in 22 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aashu View Post
care to share some details ?
It's an alpine swr-t10, 600 watts RMS, 1800 peak, 4ohm shallow sub, the box I haven't seen yet but they told me it will fit behind my seats where the factory one is with some trimming, I had found a thread where someone else did this by trimming the carpet etc back there, my amp is an 850rms mono block, 4 gauge wiring kit and I think something like a 5 or 10 farad capacitor.

The box is supposed to be in tomorrow, I'll post some pics of the sub and box when I'm installing it.

Bump for the switched power from the inverter!
Toovey2v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 12:33 PM   #10
J15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,117
Thanked 266 Times in 195 Posts
Default

It may be that way in the diagrams because factory remote turn on signals are typically not from circuits meant to power a device with a real current draw. As we discussed creating your own circuit capable of safely handling the load, that's no longer an issue. Looks like the device has a built in relay and creates its own switched power with the remote lead. You'll probably be fine using a new switched circuit as described in the previous post for both the turn on and "battery" inputs.
J15 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply


Tags
amp, line out converter, sony, subwoofer, upgrade

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Copyright 2006 - 2017 F150Forum.com We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: