Topic Sponsor
2015 - 2020 Ford F150 General discussion on the 13th generation Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need input: "Crunching" in front end using 4A?

Old 04-20-2018, 12:52 AM

Received 2,584 Likes on 1,503 Posts

Default Need input: "Crunching" in front end using 4A?

For those of you equipped with a 4-Auto capable truck, I need your input. I have been fighting Ford with my 2016 F150 501A 4WD truck... after 4 repairs, they finally figured out that there was a vacuum leak and replaced the check valve and lines to replace the noise/partial engagement issue that so many of us have dealt with. But, of course, with one fix comes a new problem. After one drive, running 4-Auto in the rain, I had two noisy metal-on-metal "crunch" noises out of the front end. One while driving straight, one while in a gentle curve. This has been escalated to Ford, who dispatched an engineer... to tell me that the sound is "normal" and was a result of the "gears meshing". Now, I'm no expert... but this wasn't a small noise - the second one was in a parking lot and loud enough that people standing in front of a restaurant a few hundred yards away turned to see what happened. Assuming this is really "gears meshing"', the gears wouldn't last long.

Keep in mind that I drove the truck for 35K with the partial engagement noise... but, in all that time, with significant use of 4-Auto, I never had any nasty crunching noises out of the front end.

So, what say you? If you have a 4-Auto equipped truck, have you ever had a metal-on-metal crunching noise out of the front end loud enough for you to say "WTF was that?" Your input would be greatly appreciated...
Old 04-20-2018, 01:09 AM
Gone Golfin

Received 2,270 Likes on 1,391 Posts

Unacceptable.

Can you replicate the sound on demand? If so, video it and post it here.
Old 04-20-2018, 01:24 AM

Received 699 Likes on 440 Posts

You are probably going to need new hubs now!!
Old 04-20-2018, 05:16 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts