Topic Sponsor
2015 - 2020 Ford F150 General discussion on the 13th generation Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First time tower - just bought boat

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2019, 03:23 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default First time tower - just bought boat

So my 2016 XLT is my first ever truck, and I recently purchased a 21' starcraft boat. I will be getting ready to head down to FL to pick it up and tow it back, and since this is my first time ever towing anything, I had a few "rookie questions"

- How imperative is it that I upgrade to towing mirrors on my truck? Since I have never had a trailer behind my truck, I have no idea how good the visibility from the stock mirrors are. I have seen the syppo towing mirrors, and these are probably what I would get if you guys told me its an absolute must, but I was curious what everyones thoughts were on the necessity of towing mirrors.

- Since I have not tried to hook the trailer up to my truck yet, how am I supposed to know if I need to get a ball hitch that has a rise or drop in it compared to just buying a standard 2" ball hitch?

- Any other items I should purchase or upgrades I should make to the truck that you guys think would help the ease of towing? I am going to be heading down to pick up the boat in about a month so I have some time.

I appreciate everyones help on these rookie questions!
Old 03-10-2019, 03:32 PM

Received 268 Likes on 209 Posts

Standard mirrors should be adequate. You'll know how much of a drop or raise hitch you'll need by whether the frame of the trailer is level, nose up, or nose down. Hopefully the trailer is set up with about 7% tongue weight, and has surge brakes on at least one axle. A spare wheel/tire and hub are always a good idea to have with you on longer tows, even with a brand new trailer.
Old 03-10-2019, 04:15 PM

Received 99 Likes on 67 Posts

The mirrors are fine. I tow a boat and no problems. I agree with stowaway - definitely get a spare tire.