Topic Sponsor
2015 - Present Ford F150 General discussion on the latest generation Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anyone install Aux Switches on their dash?

 
Old 03-02-2018, 12:41 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Ft Saskatchewan, Alberta
Posts: 95
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Anyone install Aux Switches on their dash?


I have been searching and seen several installs from the factory superduty/raptor overhead console ones to rockers in the center console, however I am thinking about putting some on the left hand side of the steering wheel, in the recessed portion between the gauges and the lower portion of the dash.
Has anyone installed them there?
It looks like there would be room for even the larger rocker switches.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Tfast150; 03-02-2018 at 01:14 PM.
Tfast150 is offline  
Old 03-02-2018, 03:15 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 107
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

I’ve been reluctant to put any permanent holes in my dash, but the digital display you mounted in the left vent piqued my interest. What’s it for and where’d you get it? Custom made mount? Any issues with heat?
packrat1969 is offline  
Old 03-02-2018, 03:17 PM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Ft Saskatchewan, Alberta
Posts: 95
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by packrat1969 View Post
I’ve been reluctant to put any permanent holes in my dash, but the digital display you mounted in the left vent piqued my interest. What’s it for and where’d you get it? Custom made mount? Any issues with heat?
Its just a picture from google but it is a boost gauge.
https://www.americantrucks.com/raxio...1516-f150.html

Im not a big fan of permanent holes either but I plan on keeping this truck for quite some time and really like light so Im gonna need some switches and the overhead console ones are nice and clean but I dont want to be reaching for the sky to flick a light bar off if by chance someone comes up to or down the road.

Last edited by Tfast150; 03-02-2018 at 03:20 PM.
Tfast150 is offline  
Old 03-02-2018, 04:45 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
mudmedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 153
Received 29 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Tfast150 View Post
Its just a picture from google but it is a boost gauge.
https://www.americantrucks.com/raxio...1516-f150.html

Im not a big fan of permanent holes either but I plan on keeping this truck for quite some time and really like light so Im gonna need some switches and the overhead console ones are nice and clean but I dont want to be reaching for the sky to flick a light bar off if by chance someone comes up to or down the road.
I installed the KustomFX overhead switches and i love them . They look custom and i would think it would be much easier to reach up and flip the switch rather than having to reach around behind the wheel . If you want easy access to switches I have seen some people on the forum have installed them in the center console by the shifter if your truck is equiped with it https://www.f150forum.com/f118/roush...itches-405554/

Last edited by mudmedic; 03-02-2018 at 04:47 PM.
mudmedic is offline  
Old 03-02-2018, 05:50 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
covertness's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 467
Received 106 Likes on 78 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mudmedic View Post
I installed the KustomFX overhead switches and i love them . They look custom and i would think it would be much easier to reach up and flip the switch rather than having to reach around behind the wheel . If you want easy access to switches I have seen some people on the forum have installed them in the center console by the shifter if your truck is equiped with it https://www.f150forum.com/f118/roush...itches-405554/

this is the answer you seek.
covertness is offline  
Old 03-02-2018, 06:16 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 1,803
Received 525 Likes on 325 Posts
Default

There is a thread on here where people put switches in their center console plastic, near the shifter. It would be very convenient to hit the switches and you wouldn’t need to reach.

I put mine on the side of the dash.....like this picture. I just used a small switch and drilled a hole. It’s easy to acces and cheap to replace the panel if I want to undo it.


Kingofwylietx is online now  
Old 03-02-2018, 06:30 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
icecoldak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 1,640
Received 302 Likes on 214 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Tfast150 View Post

I have been searching and seen several installs from the factory superduty/raptor overhead console ones to rockers in the center console, however I am thinking about putting some on the left hand side of the steering wheel, in the recessed portion between the gauges and the lower portion of the dash.
Has anyone installed them there?
It looks like there would be room for even the larger rocker switches.

Thanks in advance.

SO can you give us some detail on the boost gauge setup you did! Like where you tapped into for pressure and how you ran your wires---I like that mod and can get real time boost pressure~
icecoldak is online now  
Old 03-02-2018, 06:40 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 1,803
Received 525 Likes on 325 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Tfast150 View Post
Its just a picture from google but it is a boost gauge.
https://www.americantrucks.com/raxio...1516-f150.html

Originally Posted by icecoldak View Post
SO can you give us some detail on the boost gauge setup you did! Like where you tapped into for pressure and how you ran your wires---I like that mod and can get real time boost pressure~
He said it it wasn’t his....just a pic from Google. But, you can see he was kind enough to provide a link.
Kingofwylietx is online now  
Old 03-02-2018, 07:25 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Brad-150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 246
Received 51 Likes on 36 Posts
Default

It's not on the dash, but this thread may give you another option...

https://www.f150forum.com/f118/retro...-150-a-315470/
Brad-150 is offline  
Old 03-02-2018, 10:28 PM
  #10  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Ft Saskatchewan, Alberta
Posts: 95
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

Yup not my boost gauge. My 5.0 doesn't have and air pumps on it unfortunately.

Thanks for all your input guys but I'm not a fan of
the overhead console switches, I have thought about the center console however.
Tfast150 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Anyone install Aux Switches on their dash?


Contact Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: