Topic Sponsor
Painting and Body Work Discuss any body work or painting issues here.

Scratch Wizard review w/pics

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2017, 10:31 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Scratch Wizard review w/pics

Disclaimer: I am far from a professional and if I had this to do over again, I would have painted the entire panel on the bumper, (and I may yet do that). However, I am happy with the results.

So I hadn't had my 2017 truck for a week when I scraped the rear bumper on a light post while backing into a parking spot a church.

I ordered the kit in eBay http://www.ebay.com/itm/321945158754 and did the repair yesterday. All things considered, I am happy with the results.

Scratch through the paint with a slight dent in the bumper.

Mask and tape off area to be repaired. I should not have taped off so close to the repair on the right side.

Fill in scratches and dent.

I took a couple of applications of the filler to get the desired results. It dries quickly, 5 minutes between applications.

Sanded and ready for primer.

Primer.

Finished product after base coat and clear coat. Total time about 2 hours.
The following users liked this post:
Haktan (06-27-2020)
Old 08-05-2017, 06:45 PM

Received 3,011 Likes on 1,669 Posts

The last photo has a totally different angle and it's really tough to tell the results.
Old 08-12-2017, 11:31 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by 2008__XL
The last photo has a totally different angle and it's really tough to tell the results.
You're right. Here are a couple more, the result is still not perfect, but I'm happy.

Old 09-02-2017, 11:47 AM
Collision Journeyman

Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts

dents still there , u should have blocked it . next time put enough filler to do it in one shot . then sand to shape . Also u dont put fillers on paint bare metal only . it will claw back over time. also looks like you used way too much hardener . which will cause bleed thru.
Old 09-02-2018, 08:43 AM