Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

Tax refund decision

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2013, 06:30 AM

Received 112 Likes on 109 Posts
Default Tax refund decision

So just thought if throw this out to you guys and see what ya think. Through hard work and overpaying I've got some refund money coming and plan to do a project. Here's my problem. I can either fix up my 66' mustang or do a 4wd conversion on my truck. Here's the details. The truck deserves some fun for working so hard. It's my daily driver so is have to do the job quick. I will be using bone yard parts so if something doesn't hold up or I don't find parts I may get stuck. I am in an apartment so there is no storage space for parts and no lift. On the other hand, my mustang was my first car. It took me to prom to my job, to school and through the Army. It was how I learned mechanics ( with is how I make my living now ). It's got a nice warmed up 302 putting out near 400 HP. Runs like a champ. I've built the engine, changed to a stick, converted to disc breaks and completely modified and restored the suspension. After sitting for 5 years I just repaired an oil pump issue and it can be driven. The bad part is the tires are shot and the sheet metal is all original, damage, surface rust and all. So the plan for the Mustang is to finally make it look as nice as it runs. New tires, maybe rims. New fenders, repair the headlight bucket and weld in a new floor. While I'm at it ill customize the seat mount to give me some head room. I have a shiny new front bumper in storage and I'll spend some hours with some sandpaper and lay some paint down. This is something I've wanted to do since I got the car in 93. But it won't get me off road. Or I could blow off both and pick up a motorcycle. What do you guys think? Anyone got any tax round projects planned.
Old 01-18-2013, 08:44 AM
Salvage Yard Pro

Received 129 Likes on 115 Posts