Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

Shifter won't engage any gear

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2009, 01:36 PM
Novice mechanic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Shifter won't engage any gear

My clutch went out when i noticed the peddle droped to the floor. I know nothing about clutches or tranny's. Im just a novice when it comes to motors i can understand most problems with common sence, but this ones got me. I had a friend come over to put in new clutch and when he was finished i went out to start truck up and it fires right up. Then i push clutch in and find out it does'nt go into any gears no reverse nor 1st, 2nd and so on. It does'nt grind or even feels as if the slots are even there. My so called friend has left me high n dry wont return my calles and i never paid him since job was'nt done yet and the dude left his tools behind to havent seen or heard from him in a month. So my prob seems to be fix it myself but i dont know where to start. Could it just be the shifter is not in right and how to go about fixing that or did this joker something up i need to check into?

Im unemployed at the moment and raising two kids by myself so a shop is out of the question. Any good input where to start would be greatly appr. Laymen terms also im lost with tranny's but im good enough to understand what the parts are, most of em.
Old 04-02-2009, 12:02 AM
We'd do it

Received 449 Likes on 402 Posts