The PPD, repairs, upgrades, and general debauchery. - Page 8 - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

Go Back  Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Pre-1997 F150 > 1987 - 1996 F150
The PPD, repairs, upgrades, and general debauchery. >

The PPD, repairs, upgrades, and general debauchery.

Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

The PPD, repairs, upgrades, and general debauchery.

Old 06-20-2018, 12:36 PM
  #71  
Senior Member
 
BLDTruth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,299
Thanked 339 Times in 308 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Hoopty5.0 View Post
Good to know, thanks!



They make a plug with 3 resistors in it that "fools" the computer into thinking that everything is working as it should. I have one left over from a mustang project, luckily.



I believe that to be certainly true for the 302s. The truck intakes were (are?) awesome. However, this is a 351, and from what my research has turned up, they're terrible (unported). There was an article by tmoss porting SOMEWHERE, but for the life of me, I cannot find it. I'll keep searching. But in the mean time, you can see the difference between the GT-40 (left) stock truck 302 (center) and 351 truck lower (right).

Ahhh 351 - nevermind then - GT40 all the way
BLDTruth is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to BLDTruth For This Useful Post:
Hoopty5.0 (06-20-2018)
Old 06-21-2018, 09:57 AM
  #72  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 116
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Default

I think I got most of the vacuum and manifold stuff figured out and installed last night. The vacuum lines are pretty much done (forgot to add in the PCV, but those parts are in the mail still), the upper manifold will face the passenger side. The stock throttle cable will reach, but not with the cruise control. Almost everything is hooked up, save for the IAC and TPS that I need to swap over from the stock manifold because the plugs are different.

The only difficulty left is making a bracket for the throttle cable. I'm not above frankenstein-ing something as long as it works.
Then, I need an air filter/intake tube, but I think I can recycle some mustang parts for that.

Finally, the exhaust. Since I moved to long tubes, I think I am going to hack up the factory Y pipe, keep the factory catalytic converter, and then replace everything behind that, since that's where the restriction seems to lie. Should be simple - from the cat, 3" straight to a 3" magnaflow knockoff muffler, turn and exit in front of the rear tire.
Hoopty5.0 is offline  
Old 06-22-2018, 11:18 PM
  #73  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 116
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Its alive!
Attached Files
Hoopty5.0 is offline  
Old 06-23-2018, 05:39 PM
  #74  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 116
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Hoopty5.0 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Hoopty5.0 For This Useful Post:
BLDTruth (06-23-2018)
Old 06-25-2018, 09:37 AM
  #75  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 116
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Default

The punch list has shrunk to a handful of items to complete:
- Weld the O2 bung into the exhaust and install the sensor (hopefully, that clears the CEL)
- verify/set timing
- Install the PCV that finally came in the mail
- Rig up an intake of some sort
- Finish the exhaust

I hobbled it around the block to get it up to temp and there were no leaks or knocks, oil pressure is fine, no smoke. The throttle bracket is a hot mess and needs to be redone for aesthetics, but it works.

Has this project been worth it? I'm on the fence but the needle is leaning towards no at the moment, simply because this has been so much work. I'm hoping that changes when I can lean on it and see if it makes any more power (I'd be shocked if it doesn't)


Oh, forgot to ask - where is the ground cable that goes from the battery to the block located on these trucks? The truck is veeerrryyyy slow to turn over now, so I missed something somewhere I think.

Last edited by Hoopty5.0; 06-25-2018 at 11:12 AM.
Hoopty5.0 is offline  
Old 06-27-2018, 12:08 PM
  #76  
Bronco Guru
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Memphis, TN, Earth, Milky Way
Posts: 2,736
Thanked 331 Times in 303 Posts
Default

Steve83 is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to Steve83 For This Useful Post:
Hoopty5.0 (06-27-2018)
Old 07-02-2018, 11:58 AM
  #77  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 116
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Got the truck running pretty decently, it's at the exhaust shop right now getting new pipes from the headers back. I get a CEL only when driving... Itll idle all day long in the driveway after startup with no light. As soon as you back out of the driveway and start heading down the street, the CEL comes on. Need to dump codes again I guess.

I set the base timing at 12. The performance gains I was hoping for don't seem to be there at all. Still runs like a stock truck from what I can tell, but I'll reserve final judgement until I clear all the codes and make sure there's nothing I'm missing. Outside of that, I'm just really happy that it's running and driving again with no leaks!
Hoopty5.0 is offline  
Old 07-03-2018, 09:17 AM
  #78  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 116
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Default

I drove the truck 25 miles to work today. I am very happy with it. The bottom end power stayed about the same, might have picked up a small amount, but the top end is muuuuuch better. Cruising at 70 before, you'd have to keep your foot in it to maintain speed. It might have passed if you had a couple miles of room.

Now, it happily maintains 75mph, pulls well when passing, and sounds great. I really like that it doesn't sound like a truck and is still relatively quiet. I got a short video this morning turning under an overpass. Hard to hear in the video, but I really like it.
Hoopty5.0 is offline  
Old 07-11-2018, 07:11 PM
  #79  
Oooo a Custom Title.
 
LOCO LAPTOP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Coral Springs, FL
Posts: 965
Thanked 42 Times in 40 Posts
Default

Should run a Explorer PCM with the distributorless system like I had in my 5.0. It can actually be tuned, not sure how it would work with a E4OD however.


LOCO LAPTOP is offline  
Old 07-12-2018, 09:05 AM
  #80  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 116
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by LOCO LAPTOP View Post
Should run a Explorer PCM with the distributorless system like I had in my 5.0. It can actually be tuned, not sure how it would work with a E4OD however.


That's a possibility, but as mentioned, the E4OD might not like it. I'd also have to either a) buy another $175 cam pos. sensor like I did for my fox, or rig one together somehow.

Last edited by Hoopty5.0; 07-12-2018 at 09:08 AM.
Hoopty5.0 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: