Oil pressure switch question - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans



Oil pressure switch question

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-19-2017, 01:34 PM   #1
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: AR
Posts: 60
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Oil pressure switch question

I just installed all new gaskets (timing case, water pump, oil pan, valve covers, and thermostat housing gasket). Well I'm still getting a oil leak and where I can see the leak is coming from around the oil pressure switch. Do I have to drain my oil to change it out?
ReT_SqUiD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 01:44 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 442
Thanks: 0
Thanked 45 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReT_SqUiD View Post
I just installed all new gaskets (timing case, water pump, oil pan, valve covers, and thermostat housing gasket). Well I'm still getting a oil leak and where I can see the leak is coming from around the oil pressure switch. Do I have to drain my oil to change it out?
Absolutely not. Just don't try to change it with the engine running, haha. No reason whatsoever to drain the oil to change the oil pressure switch.
88xlt is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 88xlt For This Useful Post:
ReT_SqUiD (03-19-2017)
Old 03-19-2017, 01:55 PM   #3
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: AR
Posts: 60
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thank you!
ReT_SqUiD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 02:26 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 154
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

teflon tape on the threads may help as welll
kd3pc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 09:47 PM   #5
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: AR
Posts: 60
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

So Oreilly site says part is a 1" 1/16 socket. Apparently someone has tried to remove this before and rounded it very bad. Would it be ok to tap on a 1" and try to get it to catch with that?
ReT_SqUiD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 10:30 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 82
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I dont see why not since you're replacing it. I'd get one of these to make sure you don't damage the new one.

http://www.oreillyauto.com/site/c/se...150&vi=5006022
WillGCT is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to WillGCT For This Useful Post:
ReT_SqUiD (03-19-2017)
Old 03-19-2017, 10:53 PM   #7
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: AR
Posts: 60
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

The 1 1/16" socket just bought with this new switch it fits perfectly. Fingers crossed can just get this old one out.
ReT_SqUiD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 04:53 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
LoboMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Summerfield, NC
Posts: 136
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

FWIW I used channel grips to get my old one out.

HTH,
Lobo
LoboMike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 06:09 PM   #9
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: AR
Posts: 60
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoboMike View Post
FWIW I used channel grips to get my old one out.

HTH,
Lobo
Did you remove the ac compressor and power steering pump to get to it better?
ReT_SqUiD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 07:15 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
LoboMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Summerfield, NC
Posts: 136
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

No but I did remove the oil filter and worked from underneath. Did it when I changed my oil.
LoboMike is online now   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Copyright 2006 - 2017 F150Forum.com
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send