Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

New F150 owner having oil pan gasket problems

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2010, 04:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New F150 owner having oil pan gasket problems

I bought a 92 F150 with the 302 and auto tranny. I'm not a mechanic but I wasn't willing to pay the labor charges to have the gasket changed. I managed to get the oil pan out without hoisting the engine. Now basically I couldn't get it back in because I had to bolt up the oil pump before trying to put the pan back up. Since then i've removed the upper intake, unbolted the engine, and the fan shroud. I cannot seem to lift the engine high enough still. On another note, I'm not entirely sure i've hooked up the hoist correctly, I found the hoist point on the driver's side but I can't find another hard point on the passenger side.
If anyone has a walk through or knows what i'm doing wrong here, i'd be grateful
Old 12-17-2010, 05:50 PM
One BAMF

Oh jeez, well there was a semi-easier way of doing it. We use either the stretch or the fishing method. Once you drain and drop the pan you can 1) stretch the gasket to go over the pan or you can 2) go through the draining hole and fish it out with a coat hanger, etc. But now that you've already unbolted the motor there should be two hoist hooks on the left front and right rear of the motor. http://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/70...ine-hoist.html
Old 12-17-2010, 08:10 PM

Thanks for the hoist points...still can't raise it high enough, is there something the tranny is bolted to that needs removing?
that stretching around the pan may have worked, but i don't know i have the Fel Pro one piece with what looks like metal reinforcments.

Last edited by SPCMarty; 12-17-2010 at 08:13 PM.
Old 12-17-2010, 08:22 PM
Ahahahahahaha!!!

Received 13 Likes on 8 Posts

SPCMarty, are/were you in the army?
Old 12-17-2010, 08:50 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts