Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

List of new parts still have a problem

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2015, 07:26 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default List of new parts still have a problem

Basically bought my truck (1993 f150 extended cab 2wd) roughly 3 years ago. Drive it home it had a slight knock that I wasn't comfortable with. I ended up rebuilding the engine. (I was a mechanic for ford at the time, I work for john Deere now) we'll ever since the engine rebuild I have this buck/miss/jerk loss of power. Happens when cold and at high RPMs, about when it shifts. I CANNOT figure it out. Here's the list of parts I've installed, not all for this concern just mods I've done and parts that have failed over time.
Parts list:
TPS
IAC
transmission (made the truck 4wd so I opted to change out the whole unit. Brand new rebuild from monster)
New fuel pump (rear, the front needs a pimp now)
Ignition control module
I even put the spout/pip connector in (yeah I knew this wouldn't fix the concern I had a couple spares so I tried it)
Water temp sensor

Like I said, some of these parts were not installed to try to fix the problem just some that had failed over time. I just installed the TPS and IAC because they failed. I put a known good (used) ignition control module on.

I have checked the timing and adjusted it several times, plugs and wires have been checked and double checked. Routing wise, I haven't switched out plugs for new ones. I stuck new ones in when I rebuilt the engine. I have NOT put a distributer in.