Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

How to clean up this electrical mess?

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2017, 08:35 PM

Received 28 Likes on 28 Posts
Default How to clean up this electrical mess?

I've seen lots of pics of carburated engines and it's nice and clean. Not sure if this is this wire is in the right spot. I don't think it is. Is there a way to route this sort of cleaner and not in the way of the oil cover? I'm talking about the red wire harness below.

Also, what is that green piece for? Looks like its supposed to hold something.

Old 03-27-2017, 09:53 AM

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

I believe the green part is the lift bracket to install/remove the engine.
I am far from an expert. HTH
Old 03-27-2017, 10:10 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Green piece is for lifting the engine out. If you look on left side of motor there will be another one. The harness is on the other side of my oil spout on my truck. Just loosen the band on the hose pull it off and move harness over and be sure to put the hose back or you might have oil splattered everywhere when motor is running. Either side for the harness should be ok as long as its not touching or near anything that gets hot enough to melt anything.
The following users liked this post:
ericantonio (03-27-2017)
Old 03-27-2017, 12:17 PM

Originally Posted by ReT_SqUiD
Green piece is for lifting the engine out. If you look on left side of motor there will be another one. The harness is on the other side of my oil spout on my truck. Just loosen the band on the hose pull it off and move harness over and be sure to put the hose back or you might have oil splattered everywhere when motor is running. Either side for the harness should be ok as long as its not touching or near anything that gets hot enough to melt anything.