Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

90 F150 Front End Popping noise

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2012, 08:37 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 90 F150 Front End Popping noise

Hey guys,
Its a 90 F150 4.9L 2wd 5spd manual. I am getting popping noises when i hit bumps and also when turning sharper turns. So when i turn normal corners on the road no problem. However when i park at work or am driving through my apartment complex and am parking i get a popping noise in the front end. It is only when i turn the wheel a good amount or am maneuvering in tight spaces. When it pops when i hit bumps its hit or miss. Some days it does it almost every bump some i only hear it once or twice total. I think it might be ball joints but im not sure. I have no background in steering and suspension components so im fooled. Let me know what you think or if i need to give you more info or pictures.
Also if you can include the price on replacement if you know that would be great. Or if its easy enough and a lot cheaper i could do it in my driveway as i used to do engine and brake work there but ive just never done anything with suspension. Mind you i live in ohio and the truck is an old rusty farm truck so rust and corrosion is a big thing, and i dont have a torch to heat parts up with. Thanks.
Old 10-18-2012, 09:51 AM
Springer Spaniels Rule

Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts

Check the radius arm bushings, the arms that go from the spindle to a bracket on the frame, and is it a rattle or a pop? Best thing to do is lift each wheel and start to shake to see what is loose.
Old 10-18-2012, 01:35 PM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

I would go with what dirtcrew said.
Old 10-18-2012, 04:03 PM