Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

1992 Ford F150 thermostat

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2017, 03:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1992 Ford F150 thermostat

Hello all,
I am new to this particular forum, and I have done a general search of my topic. I have tried several of the recommendations that I have found, but I am not having any luck.

I have a 1992 F150 XLT, 5.0 liter V8. I have been trying to change the change the thermostat on it for two weeks now. I have successfully removed the top bolt from the thermostat housing. I am having no luck with the lower housing bolt. I have tried, ratchets in every configuration (with extensions, flex heads, etc.), wrenches (flex heads, regular, ratcheting, etc.). I even went to Auto Zone and bought one of those long flexible spring socket attachments, which broke. I have removed the nearby hoses, but most of the issue is the water pump below has a completely useless metal piece that is in the way.

One person I talked to said that there is a special wrench specifically for this job, but I cannot find it anywhere. Can anyone please help me out with some recommendations.
Old 01-31-2017, 04:33 PM

Received 17 Likes on 12 Posts

I just did thermostat on my 5.0 few days ago. The left one is cake and the right one (DS) is tough but a 13mm 12point worked for me. Whatever size, use a 12point.
The following users liked this post:
A Seabee (11-15-2023)
Old 01-31-2017, 08:04 PM

Received 708 Likes on 671 Posts

Use a wrench. You might have to bend it to make it work. Hopefully you don't break the bolt if it's that tight.
That's the biggest way to tell a 302 from a 351 - on a 351 you can stick a ratchet and extension right in there; 302 there's no way.
Old 02-01-2017, 03:24 PM
Just call me sean. Really

Received 153 Likes on 106 Posts