Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

X pipe VS H pipe

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2008, 02:02 PM
05 lariat

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default X pipe VS H pipe

I tried to read many posts before posting a question. I am trying to get an idea for the opinions out there on x pipe vs h pipe. I've heard from some friends that X pipe is better for flow b/c it doesn't create as much turbulence. I have an 05 5.4. Thanks.
Old 10-18-2008, 02:51 PM
Notorious Thread Editor

Received 20 Likes on 7 Posts

Yeah...the genreal concesus on most of the forums is the X-Pipe creates better flow.
Old 10-18-2008, 03:08 PM
05 lariat

Thanks. Im a newb to the hands on scene.
Old 10-18-2008, 04:18 PM
Notorious Thread Editor

me too man...at least to this performance stuff and major work.

I can change bolt on parts, brakes, exterior equiptment, but you won't see me custom building anything complicated for sure.
Old 10-18-2008, 04:36 PM
Kenosha Cadillac

What is wrong with just 2 pipes that don't intersect
Old 10-18-2008, 10:26 PM

you guys gotta be kidding me. iv never seen a forum with such a lack of technical knowledge. no offense, its no big deal. anyway, heres what ill offer, an h-pipe and an x pipe both do exactly the same thing, except an h pipe costs next to nothing, and a x pipe cost alot. the idea is to even out the exhaust pulses between the true duels. without a balance pipe it will pop and crackle becasue the pipes aren't balanced. in a perfect world, each side of a true duel would be the same length, with the same bends, but since its not, a balance pipe is what makes a duel exhaust system a good one. basicaly, whatever fits under your truck beter, alot of times, an x pipe ends up lookign cleaner under alot of cars, for a truck, and h pipe seems to work fine, i have an h pipe.
Old 10-18-2008, 10:31 PM
Notorious Thread Editor

Originally Posted by BassBuster